2007-2008

THE

AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY LAW REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

> EDITORS CAMERON FORD BRYAN MEAGHER SC

VOLUME 1

LAWBOOK CO.

2009

REPORTERS

CAMERON FORD STEVEN HAUSFELD MARGARET JONES JAMES LAWTON BRYAN MEAGHER SC JOHN PLUMIDIS DAN SHILLINGTON CS WARD STEVEN WHYBROW

PRODUCTION SUPERVISOR MYUNG COLE



© 2009 Thomson Reuters (Professional) Australia Limited ABN 64 058 914 668

Lawbook Co.

Published in Sydney

Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW

ISSN 0813-7803

SUPREME COURT OF THE AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

CHIEF JUSTICE

THE HONOURABLE TERENCE JOHN HIGGINS, AO

JUDGES

THE HONOURABLE KENNETH JOHN CRISPIN (retired, 10 October 2007) THE HONOURABLE MALCOLM FORGAN GRAY, RFD THE HONOURABLE TERENCE CONNOLLY (died, 25 September 2007) THE HONOURABLE RICHARD CHRISTOPHER REFSHAUGE THE HONOURABLE HILARY RUTH PENFOLD THE HONOURABLE JEFFREY ERNEST JOHN SPENDER THE HONOURABLE DONNELL MICHAEL RYAN THE HONOURABLE RODNEY NEVILLE MADGWICK (resigned, 21 April 2008) THE HONOURABLE MARK SAMUEL WEINBERG (resigned, 18 July 2008) THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL FRANCIS MOORE THE HONOURABLE BRIAN JOHN TAMBERLIN THE HONOURABLE SHANE RAYMOND MARSHALL THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY MAX NORTH THE HONOURABLE MARGARET ACKARY STONE THE HONOURABLE ANNABELLE CLAIRE BENNETT, AO THE HONOURABLE BRUCE THOMAS LANDER THE HONOURABLE JOHN ALFRED DOWSETT THE HONOURABLE STEVEN DAVID RARES THE HONOURABLE DENNIS ANTILL COWDROY. OAM THE HONOURABLE PETER ROSS GRAHAM THE HONOURABLE RICHARD FRANCIS EDMONDS THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY JAMES BESANKO THE HONOURABLE JOHN RONALD MANSFIELD THE HONOURABLE ROBERT JOHN BUCHANAN

MASTERS

MASTER DAVID CLEMENT DAROLD HARPER, OAM

ADVISORY BOARD

THE HONOURABLE RICHARD CHRISTOPHER REFSHAUGE BRYAN MEAGHER SC JAYNE REECE

Corrigenda

1 ACTLR 58 at 60, counsel: Delete "*J Saintly*, for the second respondent" and insert "*J Sainty*, for the second respondent".

1 ACTLR 74: Delete "Court Procedure Rules 2006 (ACT)" and insert "Court Procedures Rules 2006 (ACT)".

1 ACTLR 103: Delete "*Court Procedure Rules 2006* (ACT)" and insert "*Court Procedures Rules 2006* (ACT)".