1984

FEDERAL COURT REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

EDITOR

C. A. SWEENEY

Barrister-at-Law

VOLUME 3

THE LAW BOOK COMPANY LIMITED

1985

REPORTERS

F. P. CARNOVALE

C. A. WALTERS

B. A. GRAY

S. WARD

G. F. VANDELEUR

J. D. WHITEHEAD

Barristers-at-Law

Published in Sydney by
The Law Book Company Limited
44-50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, N.S.W.
389-393 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne, Victoria
40 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland
6 Sherwood Court, Perth, W.A.

ISSN 0085-0462

© The Law Book Company Limited 1985

Wholly set up and printed by The Law Book Company Limited, North Ryde, N.S.W.

FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

CHIEF JUDGE

THE HONOURABLE SIR NIGEL HUBERT BOWEN, K.B.E.

JUDGES

THE HONOURABLE SIR REGINALD ALLFREE SMITHERS

THE HONOURABLE RUSSELL WALTER FOX

THE HONOURABLE SIR RICHARD ARTHUR BLACKBURN, O.B.E. (retired 31 March 1985)

THE HONOURABLE CHARLES AUGUSTINE SWEENEY, C.B.E.

THE HONOURABLE SIR WILLIAM EDWARD STANLEY FORSTER

THE HONOURABLE SIR ALBERT EDWARD WOODWARD, O.B.E.

THE HONOURABLE ROBERT JAMES ANNING FRANKI

THE HONOURABLE JAMES HENRY MUIRHEAD

THE HONOURABLE PHILLIP GEORGE EVATT, D.S.C.

THE HONOURABLE ROBERT JAMES BALDWIN ST JOHN (retired 31 March 1985)

THE HONOURABLE RAYMOND MOYLE NORTHROP

THE HONOURABLE JOHN AUGUSTINE KEELY

THE HONOURABLE JOHN LESLIÈ TOOHEY

THE HONOURABLE DOUGLAS GORDON PATRICK McGregor (retired 14 June 1985)

THE HONOURABLE FRANCIS ROBERT FISHER

THE HONOURABLE JOHN FOSTER GALLOP

THE HONOURABLE JOHN DARYL DAVIES

THE HONOURABLE JOHN STANLEY LOCKHART

THE HONOURABLE IAN FITZHARDINGE SHEPPARD

THE HONOURABLE JOHN JOSEPH ANTHONY KELLY

THE HONOURABLE TREVOR REES MORLING

THE HONOURABLE GERALD EDWARD FITZGERALD (resigned 30 June 1984)

THE HONOURABLE KENNETH JOSEPH JENKINSON

THE HONOURABLE ALAN REGINALD NEAVES

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL DONALD KIRBY, C.M.G. (resigned 23 September 1984)

THE HONOURABLE BRYAN ALAN BEAUMONT

THE HONOURABLE MURRAY RUTLEDGE WILCOX (appointed 17 May 1984)

THE HONOURABLE JEFFREY ERNEST JOHN SPENDER (appointed 17 May 1984)

THE HONOURABLE PETER ROSS AWDRY GRAY (appointed 17 May 1984)

THE HONOURABLE MERVYN GEORGE EVERETT (appointed 27 June 1984)