1988-1990

FEDERAL COURT REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

EDITORS

J M BATT QC

VICTOR KLINE

Barrister-at-Law

VOLUME 21

THE LAW BOOK COMPANY LIMITED

1990

REPORTERS

JOHN BALAZS J M BATT J M BENNETT RUTH CHARLTON R J DAVIES R J DESIATNIK COLIN GOLVAN G C LINDSAY KENNETH J MARTIN C M MAXWELL G L MUECKE G PESCE BRIAN PRESTON R R PRITCHARD J E RICHARDS M W SHAND MATTHEW SMITH LEANNE THOMAS STANLEY YEO Barristers-at-Law

Published in Sydney by
The Law Book Company Limited
44-50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW
490 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria
40 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland
81 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 0813-7803

© The Law Book Company Limited 1990

FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

CHIEF JUSTICE

THE HONOURABLE SIR NIGEL HUBERT BOWEN, KBE

JUDGES

THE HONOURABLE CHARLES AUGUSTINE SWEENEY, CBE

THE HONOURABLE SIR ALBERT EDWARD WOODWARD, OBE (retired 31 July 1990)

THE HONOURABLE RAYMOND MOYLE NORTHROP

THE HONOURABLE JOHN AUGUSTINE KEELY

THE HONOURABLE FRANCIS ROBERT FISHER (retired 1 August 1989)

THE HONOURABLE JOHN FOSTER GALLOP

THE HONOURABLE JOHN DARYL DAVIES

THE HONOURABLE JOHN STANLEY LOCKHART

THE HONOURABLE IAN FITZHARDINGE SHEPPARD

THE HONOURABLE JOHN JOSEPH ANTHONY KELLY (retired 1 July 1990)

THE HONOURABLE TREVOR REES MORLING

THE HONOURABLE KENNETH JOSEPH JENKINSON

THE HONOURABLE ALAN REGINALD NEAVES

THE HONOURABLE BRYAN ALAN BEAUMONT

THE HONOURABLE MURRAY RUTLEDGE WILCOX

THE HONOURABLE JEFFREY ERNEST JOHN SPENDER

THE HONOURABLE PETER ROSS AWDRY GRAY

THE HONOURABLE CECIL WILLIAM PINCUS

THE HONOURABLE JAMES CHARLES SHOLTO BURCHETT

THE HONOURABLE JEFFREY ALLAN MILES

THE HONOURABLE DONNELL MICHAEL RYAN

THE HONOURABLE WILLIAM MONTAGUE CHARLES GUMMOW

THE HONOURABLE ROBERT SHENTON FRENCH

THE HONOURABLE MARCUS RICHARD EINFELD

THE HONOURABLE TREVOR RUSSELL HARTIGAN (died 24 April 1990)

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL LEDER FOSTER

THE HONOURABLE ALASTAIR BOTHWICK NICHOLSON

THE HONOURABLE MALCOLM CAMERON LEE

THE HONOURABLE HOWARD WILLIAM OLNEY

THE HONOURABLE JOHN WILLIAM VON DOUSSA

THE HONOURABLE DONALD GRAHAM HILL

THE HONOURABLE MAURICE FRANCIS O'LOUGHLIN

THE HONOURABLE DEIRDRE FRANCES O'CONNOR (appointed 25 June 1990)

THE HONOURABLE TERENCE JOHN HIGGINS (appointed 3 July 1990)

THE HONOURABLE JOHN HARBER PHILLIPS (appointed 16 August 1990)