# 1989-1990

# FEDERAL COURT REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

> EDITOR VICTOR KLINE

> > Barrister-at-Law

CONSULTING EDITOR

J M BATT OC

VOLUME 23

THE LAW BOOK COMPANY LIMITED

1991

### REPORTERS

JOHN BALAZS J M BENNETT GREGORY BURTON RUTH CHARLTON R W DAVIS JUSTIN FLEMING COLIN GOLVAN VICTOR KLINE G C LINDSAY KENNETH J MARTIN G Pesce RODEN PRITCHARD M W SHAND MATTHEW SMITH LEANNE THOMAS R R S TRACEY

# PRODUCTION EDITOR

SIMONE BROWN

Published in Sydney by
The Law Book Company Limited
44-50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW
490 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria
40 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland
81 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 0813-7803

© The Law Book Company Limited 1991

# FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

## CHIEF JUSTICE

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL ERIC JOHN BLACK
THE HONOURABLE SIR NIGEL HUBERT BOWEN, KBE
(retired 31 December 1990)

### JUDGES

THE HONOURABLE RAYMOND MOYLE NORTHROP

THE HONOURABLE JOHN AUGUSTINE KEELY

THE HONOURABLE FRANCIS ROBERT FISHER (retired 1 August 1989)

THE HONOURABLE JOHN FOSTER GALLOP

THE HONOURABLE JOHN DARYL DAVIES

THE HONOURABLE JOHN STANLEY LOCKHART

THE HONOURABLE IAN FITZHARDINGE SHEPPARD

THE HONOURABLE TREVOR REES MORLING

THE HONOURABLE KENNETH JOSEPH JENKINSON

THE HONOURABLE ALAN REGINALD NEAVES

THE HONOURABLE BRYAN ALAN BEAUMONT

THE HONOURABLE MURRAY RUTLEDGE WILCOX

THE HONOURABLE JEFFREY ERNEST JOHN SPENDER

THE HONOURABLE PETER ROSS AWDRY GRAY

THE HONOURABLE CECIL WILLIAM PINCUS

THE HONOURABLE JAMES CHARLES SHOLTO BURCHETT

THE HONOURABLE JEFFREY ALLAN MILES

THE HONOURABLE DONNELL MICHAEL RYAN

THE HONOURABLE WILLIAM MONTAGUE CHARLES GUMMOW

THE HONOURABLE ROBERT SHENTON FRENCH

MARCUS RICHARD EINFELD

THE HONOURABLE TREVOR RUSSELL HARTIGAN (died 24 April 1990)

HE HONOURABLE MICHAEL LEDER FOSTER

HE HONOURABLE ALASTAIR BOTHWICK NICHOLSON

E HONOURABLE MALCOLM CAMERON LEE

E HONOURABLE HOWARD WILLIAM OLNEY

THE HONOURABLE JOHN WILLIAM VON DOUSSA

THE HONOURABLE DONALD GRAHAM HILL

THE HONOURABLE MAURICE FRANCIS O'LOUGHLIN

THE HONOURABLE DEIRDRE FRANCES O'CONNOR

THE HONOURABLE TERENCE JOHN HIGGINS

THE HONOURABLE JOHN HARBER PHILLIPS

THE HONOURABLE PETER CADDEN HEEREY (appointed 17 December 1990)