1991

THE FEDERAL COURT REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

> EDITOR VICTOR KLINE

> > Barrister-at-Law

CONSULTING EDITOR

J M BATT QC

VOLUME 30

REPORTERS

RICHARD R S TRACEY QC ANDREW S BELL J M BENNETT **NEIL BURNS** RUTH CHARLTON MICHAEL CHRISTIE RONALD J DESIATNIK COLIN GOLVAN MICHELLE HEALY KAREN HOOPER VICTOR KLINE JOHN McKenna KENNETH J MARTIN RODEN PRITCHARD MATTHEW SMITH RICHARD THOMAS WARWICK WALSH-BUCKLEY

PRODUCTION EDITOR SARAH MAGAREY

Published in Sydney by
The Law Book Company Limited
44-50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW
490 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria
40 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland
81 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 0813-7803

© The Law Book Company Limited 1992

FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

CHIEF JUSTICE

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL ERIC JOHN BLACK

JUDGES

		,
Тне	Honourable	RAYMOND MOYLE NORTHROP
Тне	HONOURABLE	JOHN AUGUSTINE KEELY
Тне	Honourable	JOHN FOSTER GALLOP
Тне	HONOURABLE	JOHN DARYL DAVIES
Тне	Honourable	JOHN STANLEY LOCKHART
Тне	HONOURABLE	IAN FITZHARDINGE SHEPPARD, AO
Тне	HONOURABLE	TREVOR REES MORLING
Тне	HONOURABLE	KENNETH JOSEPH JENKINSON
ТнЕ	HONOURABLE	Alan Reginald Neaves

THE HONOURABLE CHARLES AUGUSTINE SWEENEY CRE

THE HONOURABLE BRYAN ALAN BEAUMONT

THE HONOURABLE MURRAY RUTLEDGE WILCOX

THE HONOURABLE JEFFREY ERNEST JOHN SPENDER

THE HONOURABLE PETER ROSS AWDRY GRAY

THE HONOURABLE CECIL WILLIAM PINCUS (retired 16 December 1991)

THE HONOURABLE JAMES CHARLES SHOLTO BURCHETT

THE HONOURABLE JEFFREY ALLAN MILES

THE HONOURABLE DONNELL MICHAEL RYAN

THE HONOURABLE WILLIAM MONTAGUE CHARLES GUMMOW

THE HONOURABLE ROBERT SHENTON FRENCH

THE HONOURABLE MARCUS RICHARD EINFELD

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL LEADER FOSTER

THE HONOURABLE ALASTAIR BOTHWICK NICHOLSON, RSD

THE HONOURABLE MALCOLM CAMERON LEE

THE HONOURABLE HOWARD WILLIAM OLNEY

The Honourable John William von Doussa

THE HONOURABLE DONALD GRAHAM HILL

THE HONOURABLE MAURICE FRANCIS O'LOUGHLIN

THE HONOURABLE DEIRDRE FRANCES O'CONNOR

THE HONOURABLE TERENCE JOHN HIGGINS

THE HONOURABLE PETER CADDEN HEEREY

THE HONOURABLE DOUGLAS PATON DRUMMOND (appointed 2 December 1991)

THE HONOURABLE RICHARD ELLARD COOPER (appointed 31 March 1992)