# 1991 - 1992

# THE FEDERAL COURT REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

> EDITOR VICTOR KLINE

> > Barrister-at-Law

CONSULTING EDITOR

J M BATT QC

VOLUME 33

THE LAW BOOK COMPANY LIMITED 1992

#### REPORTERS

RICHARD R S TRACEY QC J M BENNETT CARLA BUCKLEY CHRIS CALEO JOHN CARVAN MARY DESSES COLIN GOLVAN MICHELLE HEALY KAREN HOOPER VICTOR KLINE JOHN McKENNA KENNETH J MARTIN RODEN PRITCHARD Kieran Smark MATTHEW SMITH LEANNE THOMAS PAUL VOUT

# PRODUCTION EDITOR SARAH MAGAREY

Published in Sydney by
The Law Book Company Limited
44-50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW
490 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria
40 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland
81 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 0813-7803

© The Law Book Company Limited 1992

## FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

### CHIEF JUSTICE

## THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL ERIC JOHN BLACK

ACC Bension of ACC Benking to

#### **JUDGES**

THE HONOURABLE CHARLES AUGUSTINE SWEENEY, CBE
THE HONOURABLE RAYMOND MOYLE NORTHROP
THE HONOURABLE JOHN AUGUSTINE KEELY
THE HONOURABLE JOHN FOSTER GALLOP
THE HONOURABLE JOHN DARYL DAVIES
THE HONOURABLE JOHN STANLEY LOCKHART
THE HONOURABLE IAN FITZHARDINGE SHEPPARD, AO
THE HONOURABLE TREVOR REES MORLING
THE HONOURABLE KENNETH JOSEPH JENKINSON
THE HONOURABLE ALAN REGINALD NEAVES
THE HONOURABLE BRYAN ALAN BEAUMONT
THE HONOURABLE MURRAY RUTLEDGE WILCOX
THE HONOURABLE JEFFREY ERNEST JOHN SPENDER
THE HONOURABLE PETER ROSS AWDRY GRAY
THE HONOURABLE CECIL WILLIAM PINCUS
(resigned 16 December 1991)
THE HONOURABLE JAMES CHARLES SHOLTO BURCHETT
THE HONOURABLE JEFFREY ALLAN MILES
THE HONOURABLE DONNELL MICHAEL RYAN
THE HONOURABLE WILLIAM MONTAGUE CHARLES GUMMOW
THE HONOURABLE ROBERT SHENTON FRENCH
THE HONOURABLE MARCUS RICHARD EINFELD
THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL LEADER FOSTER
THE HONOURABLE ALASTAIR BOTHWICK NICHOLSON, RSD
THE HONOURABLE MALCOLM CAMERON LEE
THE HONOURABLE HOWARD WILLIAM OLNEY
THE HONOURABLE JOHN WILLIAM VON DOUSSA
THE HONOURABLE DONALD GRAHAM HILL
THE HONOURABLE MAURICE FRANCIS O'LOUGHLIN

THE HONOURABLE DEIRDRE FRANCES O'CONNOR

THE HONOURABLE TERENCE JOHN HIGGINS

THE HONOURABLE PETER CADDEN HEEREY

THE HONOURABLE DOUGLAS PATON DRUMMOND

THE HONOURABLE RICHARD ELLARD COOPER