# 1992

# THE FEDERAL COURT REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

EDITOR

VICTOR KLINE

Barrister-at-Law

CONSULTING EDITOR
J M BATT QC

**VOLUME 35** 

THE LAW BOOK COMPANY LIMITED

1992

### REPORTERS

MICHAEL O'SULLIVAN QC DR J M BENNETT PENELOPE BROWN CARLA BUCKLEY CHRIS CALEO JOHN CARVAN MICHAEL CHRISTIE MARY DESSES SIMON EVANS JUSTIN FLEMING MICHELLE HEALY KAREN HOOPER VICTOR KLINE KENNETH J MARTIN RODEN PRITCHARD KIERAN SMARK MATTHEW SMITH RICHARD THOMAS PAUL VOUT WARWICK WALSH-BUCKLEY STANLEY YEO

# PRODUCTION EDITOR LYDIA PAPANDREA

Published in Sydney by
The Law Book Company Limited
44-50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW
490 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria
40 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland
81 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 0813-7803

© The Law Book Company Limited 1992

## FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

### CHIEF JUSTICE

### THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL ERIC JOHN BLACK

### **JUDGES**

THE	HONOURABLE	CHARLES AUGUSTINE SWEENEY, CBE
Тне	HONOURABLE	RAYMOND MOYLE NORTHROP
THE	HONOURABLE	JOHN AUGUSTINE KEELY
THE	HONOURABLE	JOHN FOSTER GALLOP
THE	HONOURABLE	JOHN DARYL DAVIES
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	JOHN STANLEY LOCKHART
Тне	HONOURABLE	IAN FITZHARDINGE SHEPPARD, AO
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	TREVOR REES MORLING
Тне	HONOURABLE	KENNETH JOSEPH JENKINSON
THE	HONOURABLE	ALAN REGINALD NEAVES
Тне	HONOURABLE	BRYAN ALAN BEAUMONT
Тне	HONOURABLE	MURRAY RUTLEDGE WILCOX
Тне	HONOURABLE	JEFFREY ERNEST JOHN SPENDER
THE	HONOURABLE	PETER ROSS AWDRY GRAY
THE	HONOURABLE	JAMES CHARLES SHOLTO BURCHETT
Тне	HONOURABLE	JEFFREY ALLAN MILES
Тне	HONOURABLE	DONNELL MICHAEL RYAN
THE	HONOURABLE	WILLIAM MONTAGUE CHARLES GUMMOW
THE	HONOURABLE	ROBERT SHENTON FRENCH
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	MARCUS RICHARD EINFELD
Тне	HONOURABLE	MICHAEL LEADER FOSTER
THE	HONOURABLE	ALASTAIR BOTHWICK NICHOLSON, AO, RFD
THE	HONOURABLE	MALCOLM CAMERON LEE
THE	HONOURABLE	HOWARD WILLIAM OLNEY
Тне	HONOURABLE	JOHN WILLIAM VON DOUSSA
THE	HONOURABLE	DONALD GRAHAM HILL
Тне	HONOURABLE	Maurice Francis O'Loughlin
Тне	HONOURABLE	DEIRDRE FRANCES O'CONNOR
Тне	HONOURABLE	TERENCE JOHN HIGGINS

THE HONOURABLE PETER CADDEN HEEREY

# THE HONOURABLE DOUGLAS PATON DRUMMOND THE HONOURABLE RICHARD ELLARD COOPER