THE FEDERAL COURT REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

EDITOR VICTOR KLINE

Barrister-at-Law

CONSULTING EDITOR

J M BATT QC

VOLUME 38

THE LAW BOOK COMPANY LIMITED

1993

REPORTERS

RICHARD R S TRACEY QC JUSTINE BEAUMONT DR J M BENNETT **NEIL BURNS** CHRIS CALEO JOHN CARVAN MICHAEL CHRISTIE RONALD J DESIATNIK SIMON EVANS PETER HANKS KAREN HAZAN VICTOR KLINE PAUL McOUADE **BRIAN PRESTON** RODEN PRITCHARD BRUCE SMITH MATTHEW SMITH

PRODUCTION EDITOR
LYDIA PAPANDREA

Published in Sydney by
The Law Book Company Limited
44-50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW
568 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne, Victoria
40 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland
81 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 0813-7803

© The Law Book Company Limited 1993

FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

CHIEF JUSTICE

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL ERIC JOHN BLACK

JUDGES

THE	HONOURABLE	CHARLES AUGUSTINE SWEENEY, CBE
Тне	HONOURABLE	RAYMOND MOYLE NORTHROP
THE	HONOURABLE	JOHN AUGUSTINE KEELY
THE	HONOURABLE	JOHN FOSTER GALLOP
THE	HONOURABLE	JOHN DARYL DAVIES
THE	HONOURABLE	JOHN STANLEY LOCKHART
Тне	HONOURABLE	IAN FITZHARDINGE SHEPPARD, AO
THE	HONOURABLE	TREVOR REES MORLING
THE	HONOURABLE	KENNETH JOSEPH JENKINSON
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	ALAN REGINALD NEAVES
THE	HONOURABLE	BRYAN ALAN BEAUMONT
Тне	HONOURABLE	MURRAY RUTLEDGE WILCOX
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	JEFFREY ERNEST JOHN SPENDER
Тне	HONOURABLE	PETER ROSS AWDRY GRAY
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	JAMES CHARLES SHOLTO BURCHETT
THE	HONOURABLE	JEFFREY ALLAN MILES
THE	HONOURABLE	DONNELL MICHAEL RYAN
Тне	HONOURABLE	WILLIAM MONTAGUE CHARLES GUMMOW
THE	HONOURABLE	ROBERT SHENTON FRENCH
THE	HONOURABLE	MARCUS RICHARD EINFELD
THE	HONOURABLE	MICHAEL LEADER FOSTER
THE	HONOURABLE	ALASTAIR BOTHWICK NICHOLSON, RSD
THE	HONOURABLE	MALCOLM CAMERON LEE
THE	HONOURABLE	HOWARD WILLIAM OLNEY
THE	HONOURABLE	JOHN WILLIAM VON DOUSSA
THE	HONOURABLE	DONALD GRAHAM HILL
THE	HONOURABLE	Maurice Francis O'Loughlin
THE	HONOURABLE	DEIRDRE FRANCES O'CONNOR

THE HONOURABLE TERENCE JOHN HIGGINS THE HONOURABLE PETER CADDEN HEEREY

THE HONOURABLE DOUGLAS PATON DRUMMOND

THE HONOURABLE RICHARD ELLARD COOPER

THE HONOURABLE ANTONY PHILIP WHITLAM

THE HONOURABLE MARGARET JOAN BEAZLEY