1992-1993

THE FEDERAL COURT REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

> EDITOR VICTOR KLINE Barrister-at-Law

CONSULTING EDITOR J M BATT QC

VOLUME 39

THE LAW BOOK COMPANY LIMITED

1993

REPORTERS

ANTHONY H SLATER QC RICHARD R S TRACEY QC PENELOPE BROWN CARLA BUCKLEY CHRIS CALEO JOHN CARVAN RONALD J DESIATNIK MARY DESSES SIMON EVANS JUSTIN FLEMING COLIN GOLVAN PETER HANKS KAREN HAZAN VICTOR KLINE KENNETH J MARTIN PAUL MCQUADE JAMES PATERSON IAN PIKE BRIAN PRESTON RODEN PRITCHARD BRUCE SMITH MATTHEW SMITH

PRODUCTION EDITOR

Lydia Papandrea

Published in Sydney by The Law Book Company Limited 44-50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW 568 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne, Victoria 40 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland 81 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 0813-7803

© The Law Book Company Limited 1993

Typeset by the Law Book Company Ltd, North Ryde, NSW Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW

FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

CHIEF JUSTICE

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL ERIC JOHN BLACK

JUDGES

IHE	Honourable	CHARLES AUGUSTINE SWEENEY, CBE
Тне	Honourable	RAYMOND MOYLE NORTHROP
Тне	HONOURABLE	JOHN AUGUSTINE KEELY
Тне	HONOURABLE	John Foster Gallop
Т́не	HONOURABLE	John Daryl Davies
Тне	HONOURABLE	John Stanley Lockhart
Тне	HONOURABLE	IAN FITZHARDINGE SHEPPARD, AO
Тне	Honourable	TREVOR REES MORLING
THE	Honourable	Kenneth Joseph Jenkinson
Тне	Honourable	Alan Reginald Neaves
Тне	Honourable	Bryan Alan Beaumont
Тне	Honourable	MURRAY RUTLEDGE WILCOX
The	Honourable	JEFFREY ERNEST JOHN SPENDER
Тне	Honourable	PETER ROSS AWDRY GRAY
Тне	Honourable	JAMES CHARLES SHOLTO BURCHETT
Тне	Honourable	JEFFREY ALLAN MILES
Тне	Honourable	Donnell Michael Ryan
Тне	HONOURABLE	WILLIAM MONTAGUE CHARLES GUMMOW
Тне	HONOURABLE	ROBERT SHENTON FRENCH
		Robert Shenton French Marcus Richard Einfeld
Тне	HONOURABLE	
Тне Тне	HONOURABLE HONOURABLE	MARCUS RICHARD EINFELD
Тне Тне Тне	HONOURABLE HONOURABLE HONOURABLE	MARCUS RICHARD EINFELD MICHAEL LEADER FOSTER
Тне Тне Тне Тне	HONOURABLE HONOURABLE HONOURABLE	MARCUS RICHARD EINFELD MICHAEL LEADER FOSTER ALASTAIR BOTHWICK NICHOLSON, RSD
THE THE THE THE THE	HONOURABLE HONOURABLE HONOURABLE HONOURABLE	MARCUS RICHARD EINFELD MICHAEL LEADER FOSTER ALASTAIR BOTHWICK NICHOLSON, RSD MALCOLM CAMERON LEE
THE THE THE THE THE THE	HONOURABLE HONOURABLE HONOURABLE HONOURABLE HONOURABLE	MARCUS RICHARD EINFELD MICHAEL LEADER FOSTER ALASTAIR BOTHWICK NICHOLSON, RSD MALCOLM CAMERON LEE HOWARD WILLIAM OLNEY
THE THE THE THE THE THE THE	HONOURABLE HONOURABLE HONOURABLE HONOURABLE HONOURABLE HONOURABLE	MARCUS RICHARD EINFELD MICHAEL LEADER FOSTER ALASTAIR BOTHWICK NICHOLSON, RSD MALCOLM CAMERON LEE HOWARD WILLIAM OLNEY JOHN WILLIAM VON DOUSSA
THE THE THE THE THE THE THE THE	HONOURABLE HONOURABLE HONOURABLE HONOURABLE HONOURABLE HONOURABLE HONOURABLE	MARCUS RICHARD EINFELD MICHAEL LEADER FOSTER ALASTAIR BOTHWICK NICHOLSON, RSD MALCOLM CAMERON LEE HOWARD WILLIAM OLNEY JOHN WILLIAM VON DOUSSA DONALD GRAHAM HILL
THE THE THE THE THE THE THE THE	HONOURABLE HONOURABLE HONOURABLE HONOURABLE HONOURABLE HONOURABLE HONOURABLE HONOURABLE	MARCUS RICHARD EINFELD MICHAEL LEADER FOSTER ALASTAIR BOTHWICK NICHOLSON, RSD MALCOLM CAMERON LEE HOWARD WILLIAM OLNEY JOHN WILLIAM VON DOUSSA DONALD GRAHAM HILL MAURICE FRANCIS O'LOUGHLIN
THE THE THE THE THE THE THE THE THE	HONOURABLE HONOURABLE HONOURABLE HONOURABLE HONOURABLE HONOURABLE HONOURABLE HONOURABLE HONOURABLE	MARCUS RICHARD EINFELD MICHAEL LEADER FOSTER ALASTAIR BOTHWICK NICHOLSON, RSD MALCOLM CAMERON LEE HOWARD WILLIAM OLNEY JOHN WILLIAM VON DOUSSA DONALD GRAHAM HILL MAURICE FRANCIS O'LOUGHLIN DEIRDRE FRANCES O'CONNOR

- THE HONOURABLE DOUGLAS PATON DRUMMOND
- THE HONOURABLE RICHARD ELLARD COOPER
- THE HONOURABLE ANTONY PHILIP WHITLAM
- THE HONOURABLE MARGARET JOAN BEAZLEY