1992-1993

THE FEDERAL COURT REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

EDITOR VICTOR KLINE

Barrister-at-Law

CONSULTING EDITOR
J M BATT QC

VOLUME 40

THE LAW BOOK COMPANY LIMITED 1993

REPORTERS

ANTHONY H SLATER QC RICHARD R S TRACEY OC JUSTINE BEAUMONT DR J M BENNETT CARLA BUCKLEY CHRIS CALEO JOHN CARVAN MICHAEL CHRISTIE MARY DESSES RONALD J DESIATNIK SIMON EVANS PETER HANKS NICHOLAS ILES VICTOR KLINE PAUL McQUADE KENNETH J MARTIN JAMES PATERSON **BRIAN PRESTON** RODEN PRITCHARD MATIHEW SMITH PAUL VOUT WARWICK WALSH-BUCKLEY

PRODUCTION EDITOR LYDIA PAPANDREA

Published in Sydney by
The Law Book Company Limited
44-50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW
568 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne, Victoria
40 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland
81 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 0813-7803

© The Law Book Company Limited 1993

Typeset by the Law Book Company Ltd, North Ryde, NSW Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW

FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

CHIEF JUSTICE

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL ERIC JOHN BLACK

JUDGES

THE HONOURABLE CHARLES A	UGUSTINE SWEENEY, CBE
THE HONOURABLE RAYMOND	Moyle Northrop
THE HONOURABLE JOHN AUGU	JSTINE KEELY
THE HONOURABLE JOHN FOST	er Gallop
THE HONOURABLE JOHN DARY	L DAVIES
THE HONOURABLE JOHN STAN	LEY LOCKHART
THE HONOURABLE IAN FITZHA	RDINGE SHEPPARD, AO
THE HONOURABLE TREVOR RI	EES MORLING
THE HONOURABLE KENNETH J	oseph Jenkinson
THE HONOURABLE ALAN REGI	NALD N EAVES
THE HONOURABLE BRYAN ALA	an Beaumont
THE HONOURABLE MURRAY R	UTLEDGE WILCOX
THE HONOURABLE JEFFREY EI	RNEST JOHN SPENDER
THE HONOURABLE PETER ROS	s Awdry Gray
THE HONOURABLE JAMES CHA	RLES SHOLTO BURCHETT
THE HONOURABLE JEFFREY A	llan Miles
THE HONOURABLE DONNELL M	MICHAEL RYAN
THE HONOURABLE WILLIAM M	IONTAGUE CHARLES GUMMOV
THE HONOURABLE ROBERT SH	IENTON FRENCH
THE HONOURABLE MARCUS R	ICHARD EINFELD
THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL L	EADER FOSTER
THE HONOURABLE ALASTAIR I	BOTHWICK NICHOLSON, RSD
THE HONOURABLE MALCOLM	Cameron Lee
THE HONOURABLE HOWARD V	VILLIAM OLNEY
THE HONOURABLE JOHN WILL	iam von Doussa
THE HONOURABLE DONALD G	raham Hill
THE HONOURABLE MAURICE F	Francis O'Loughlin
THE HONOURABLE DEIRDRE F	RANCES O'CONNOR
THE HONOURABLE TERENCE J	OHN HIGGINS

THE HONOURABLE PETER CADDEN HEEREY

THE HONOURABLE DOUGLAS PATON DRUMMOND

THE HONOURABLE RICHARD ELLARD COOPER

THE HONOURABLE ANTONY PHILIP WHITLAM

THE HONOURABLE MARGARET JOAN BEAZLEY