1993

THE FEDERAL COURT REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

> editor VICTOR KLINE

> > Barrister-at-Law

CONSULTING EDITOR J M BATT QC

VOLUME 42

THE LAW BOOK COMPANY LIMITED

1994

REPORTERS

ANTHONY H SLATER QC RICHARD R S TRACEY OC JUSTINE BEAUMONT PENNY BROWN **NEIL BURNS** CHRIS CALEO JOHN CARVAN MICHAEL CHRISTIE RONALD J DESIATNIK MARY DESSES SIMON EEVANS PETER HANKS VICTOR KLINE KENNETH J MARTIN **RODEN PRITCHARD** MATTHEW SMITH ANDREW STRUM PAUL VOUT KRISTEN WALKER CAROL WEBSTER

PRODUCTION EDITOR

Lydia Papandrea

Published in Sydney by The Law Book Company Limited 44-50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW 568 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne, Victoria 40 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland 81 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 0813-7803

© The Law Book Company Limited 1994

Typeset by the Law Book Company Ltd, North Ryde, NSW Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW

FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

CHIEF JUSTICE

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL ERIC JOHN BLACK

JUDGES

THE HONOURABLE CHARLES AUGUSTINE SWEENEY, CBE THE HONOURABLE RAYMOND MOYLE NORTHROP THE HONOURABLE JOHN AUGUSTINE KEELY THE HONOURABLE JOHN FOSTER GALLOP THE HONOURABLE JOHN DARYL DAVIES THE HONOURABLE JOHN STANLEY LOCKHART THE HONOURABLE IAN FITZHARDINGE SHEPPARD, AO THE HONOURABLE TREVOR REES MORLING THE HONOURABLE KENNETH JOSEPH JENKINSON THE HONOURABLE ALAN REGINALD NEAVES THE HONOURABLE BRYAN ALAN BEAUMONT THE HONOURABLE MURRAY RUTLEDGE WILCOX THE HONOURABLE JEFFREY ERNEST JOHN SPENDER THE HONOURABLE PETER ROSS AWDRY GRAY THE HONOURABLE JAMES CHARLES SHOLTO BURCHETT THE HONOURABLE JEFFREY ALLAN MILES THE HONOURABLE DONNELL MICHAEL RYAN THE HONOURABLE WILLIAM MONTAGUE CHARLES GUMMOW THE HONOURABLE ROBERT SHENTON FRENCH THE HONOURABLE MARCUS RICHARD EINFELD THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL LEADER FOSTER THE HONOURABLE ALASTAIR BOTHWICK NICHOLSON, RSD THE HONOURABLE MALCOLM CAMERON LEE THE HONOURABLE HOWARD WILLIAM OLNEY THE HONOURABLE JOHN WILLIAM VON DOUSSA THE HONOURABLE DONALD GRAHAM HILL THE HONOURABLE MAURICE FRANCIS O'LOUGHLIN THE HONOURABLE DEIRDRE FRANCES O'CONNOR THE HONOURABLE TERENCE JOHN HIGGINS THE HONOURABLE PETER CADDEN HEEREY

THE HONOURABLE DOUGLAS PATON DRUMMOND THE HONOURABLE RICHARD ELLARD COOPER THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER JOHN SEYMOUR METFORD CARR (appointed 13 December 1993)