# 1993

# THE FEDERAL COURT REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

EDITOR VICTOR KLINE

Barrister-at-Law

CONSULTING EDITOR

J M BATT QC

VOLUME 43

THE LAW BOOK COMPANY LIMITED

1994

### REPORTERS

PENNY BROWN **NEIL BURNS** CHRIS CALEO JOHN CARVAN MARY DESSES PETER HANKS NICHOLAS ILES VICTOR KLINE DAVID MACLEAN IAN PIKE RODEN PRITCHARD BRUCE SMITH MATTHEW SMITH ANDREW STRUM KRISTEN WALKER CAROL WEBSTER

PRODUCTION EDITOR
LYDIA PAPANDREA

Published in Sydney by
The Law Book Company Limited
44-50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW
568 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne, Victoria
40 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland
81 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 0813-7803

© The Law Book Company Limited 1994

## FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

### CHIEF JUSTICE

### THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL ERIC JOHN BLACK

### **JUDGES**

THE	HONOURABLE	CHARLES AUGUSTINE SWEENEY, CBE
Тне	HONOURABLE	RAYMOND MOYLE NORTHROP
THE	HONOURABLE	JOHN AUGUSTINE KEELY
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	JOHN FOSTER GALLOP
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	JOHN DARYL DAVIES
THE	HONOURABLE	JOHN STANLEY LOCKHART
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	IAN FITZHARDINGE SHEPPARD, AO
THE	HONOURABLE	TREVOR REES MORLING
THE	HONOURABLE	KENNETH JOSEPH JENKINSON
Тне	HONOURABLE	ALAN REGINALD NEAVES
Тне	HONOURABLE	BRYAN ALAN BEAUMONT
THE	HONOURABLE	MURRAY RUTLEDGE WILCOX
THE	HONOURABLE	JEFFREY ERNEST JOHN SPENDER
THE	HONOURABLE	PETER ROSS AWDRY GRAY
Тне	HONOURABLE	JAMES CHARLES SHOLTO BURCHETT
Тне	HONOURABLE	JEFFREY ALLAN MILES
THE	HONOURABLE	DONNELL MICHAEL RYAN
THE	HONOURABLE	WILLIAM MONTAGUE CHARLES GUMMOW
THE	HONOURABLE	ROBERT SHENTON FRENCH
Тне	HONOURABLE	MARCUS RICHARD EINFELD
THE	HONOURABLE	MICHAEL LEADER FOSTER
Тне	HONOURABLE	ALASTAIR BOTHWICK NICHOLSON, AO, RFD
Тне	HONOURABLE	MALCOLM CAMERON LEE
THE	HONOURABLE	HOWARD WILLIAM OLNEY
Тне	HONOURABLE	JOHN WILLIAM VON DOUSSA
THE	HONOURABLE	DONALD GRAHAM HILL
THE	HONOURABLE	Maurice Francis O'Loughlin
ТΉЕ	Ho nourable	DEIRDRE FRANCES O'CONNOR
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	TERENCE JOHN HIGGINS
THE	HONOURABLE	PETER CADDEN HEEREY

THE HONOURABLE DOUGLAS PATON DRUMMOND
THE HONOURABLE RICHARD ELLARD COOPER
THE HONOURABLE ANTONY PHILIP WHITLAM
THE HONOURABLE MARGARET JOAN BEAZLEY
THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER JOHN SEYMOUR
METFORD CARR