# 1993

# THE FEDERAL COURT REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

EDITOR VICTOR KLINE

Barrister-at-Law

CONSULTING EDITOR
DAVID CATTERNS OC

**VOLUME 45** 

THE LAW BOOK COMPANY LIMITED
1994

### REPORTERS

RICHARD R S TRACEY OC JUSTINE BEAUMONT CARLA BUCKLEY CHRIS CALEO JOHN CARVAN RONALD J DESIATNIK MARY DESSES PETER HANKS VICTOR KLINE DAVID MACLEAN IAN PIKE RODEN PRITCHARD MATTHEW SMITH ANDREW STRUM PAUL VOUT KRISTEN WALKER

PRODUCTION EDITORS
LYDIA PAPANDREA
KYLIE JEROME

Published in Sydney by
The Law Book Company Limited
44-50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW
568 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne, Victoria
40 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland
81 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 0813-7803

© The Law Book Company Limited 1994

## FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

### CHIEF JUSTICE

### THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL ERIC JOHN BLACK

### **JUDGES**

THE	HONOURABLE	CHARLES AUGUSTINE SWEENEY, CBE
Тне	HONOURABLE	RAYMOND MOYLE NORTHROP
THE	HONOURABLE	JOHN AUGUSTINE KEELY
Тне	HONOURABLE	JOHN FOSTER GALLOP
THE	HONOURABLE	JOHN DARYL DAVIES
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	JOHN STANLEY LOCKHART
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	IAN FITZHARDINGE SHEPPARD, AO
THE	HONOURABLE	TREVOR REES MORLING
THE	HONOURABLE	KENNETH JOSEPH JENKINSON
THE	HONOURABLE	ALAN REGINALD NEAVES
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	BRYAN ALAN BEAUMONT
THE	HONOURABLE	MURRAY RUTLEDGE WILCOX
Тне	HONOURABLE	JEFFREY ERNEST JOHN SPENDER
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	PETER ROSS AWDRY GRAY
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	JAMES CHARLES SHOLTO BURCHETT
THE	HONOURABLE	JEFFREY ALLAN MILES
THE	HONOURABLE	DONNELL MICHAEL RYAN
Тне	HONOURABLE	WILLIAM MONTAGUE CHARLES GUMMOW
Тне	HONOURABLE	ROBERT SHENTON FRENCH
THE	HONOURABLE	MARCUS RICHARD EINFELD
THE	HONOURABLE	MICHAEL LEADER FOSTER
THE	HONOURABLE	ALASTAIR BOTHWICK NICHOLSON, RSD
THE	HONOURABLE	MALCOLM CAMERON LEE
Тне	HONOURABLE	HOWARD WILLIAM OLNEY
Тне	HONOURABLE	JOHN WILLIAM VON DOUSSA
Тне	HONOURABLE	DONALD GRAHAM HILL
THE	HONOURABLE	Maurice Francis O'Loughlin

THE HONOURABLE DEIRDRE FRANCES O'CONNOR

THE HONOURABLE TERENCE JOHN HIGGINS THE HONOURABLE PETER CADDEN HEEREY

THE HONOURABLE DOUGLAS PATON DRUMMOND
THE HONOURABLE RICHARD ELLARD COOPER
THE HONOURABLE ANTONY PHILIP WHITLAM
THE HONOURABLE MARGARET JOAN BEAZLEY
THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER JOHN SEYMOUR
METFORD CARR