# 1993

# THE FEDERAL COURT REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

EDITOR VICTOR KLINE

Barrister-at-Law

CONSULTING EDITOR
DAVID CATTERNS QC

VOLUME 46

THE LAW BOOK COMPANY LIMITED

1994

#### REPORTERS

DR J M BENNETT JUSTINE BEAUMONT PENELOPE BROWN CARLA BUCKLEY CHRIS CALEO JOHN CARVAN RONALD J DESIATNIK MARY DESSES PETER HANKS NICHOLAS ILES VICTOR KLINE BRIAN PRESTON RODEN PRITCHARD MATTHEW SMITH ANDREW STRUM LEANNE THOMAS CAROL WEBSTER

PRODUCTION EDITORS

LYDIA PAPANDREA

KYLIE JEROME

Published in Sydney by
The Law Book Company Limited
44-50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW
568 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne, Victoria
40 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland
81 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 0813-7803

© The Law Book Company Limited 1994

# FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

### CHIEF JUSTICE

## THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL ERIC JOHN BLACK

#### **JUDGES**

THE	HONOURABLE	CHARLES AUGUSTINE SWEENEY, CBE
Тне	HONOURABLE	RAYMOND MOYLE NORTHROP
THE	HONOURABLE	JOHN AUGUSTINE KEELY
Тне	HONOURABLE	JOHN FOSTER GALLOP
Тне	HONOURABLE	JOHN DARYL DAVIES
Тне	HONOURABLE	JOHN STANLEY LOCKHART
Тне	HONOURABLE	IAN FITZHARDINGE SHEPPARD, AO
Тне	HONOURABLE	TREVOR REES MORLING
THE	HONOURABLE	KENNETH JOSEPH JENKINSON
THE	HONOURABLE	ALAN REGINALD NEAVES
THE	HONOURABLE	BRYAN ALAN BEAUMONT
Тне	HONOURABLE	MURRAY RUTLEDGE WILCOX
Тне	HONOURABLE	JEFFREY ERNEST JOHN SPENDER
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	PETER ROSS AWDRY GRAY
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	JAMES CHARLES SHOLTO BURCHETT
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	JEFFREY ALLAN MILES
THE	Ho nourable	DONNELL MICHAEL RYAN
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	WILLIAM MONTAGUE CHARLES GUMMOW
THE	HONOURABLE	ROBERT SHENTON FRENCH
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	MARCUS RICHARD EINFELD
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	MICHAEL LEADER FOSTER
THE	HONOURABLE	ALASTAIR BOTHWICK NICHOLSON, AO, RFD
THE	HONOURABLE	MALCOLM CAMERON LEE
THE	HONOURABLE	HOWARD WILLIAM OLNEY
THE	HONOURABLE	JOHN WILLIAM VON DOUSSA
Тне	HONOURABLE	DONALD GRAHAM HILL

THE HONOURABLE MAURICE FRANCIS O'LOUGHLIN THE HONOURABLE DEIRDRE FRANCES O'CONNOR

THE HONOURABLE TERENCE JOHN HIGGINS THE HONOURABLE PETER CADDEN HEEREY

THE HONOURABLE DOUGLAS PATON DRUMMOND

THE HONOURABLE RICHARD ELLARD COOPER

THE HONOURABLE ANTONY PHILIP WHITLAM

THE HONOURABLE MARGARET JOAN BEAZLEY

THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER JOHN SEYMOUR METFORD CARR

THE HONOURABLE CATHERINE MARGARET BRANSON (appointed 16 May 1994)