# 1993

# THE FEDERAL COURT REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

EDITOR VICTOR KLINE

Barrister-at-Law

CONSULTING EDITOR
DAVID CATTERNS QC

VOLUME 47

THE LAW BOOK COMPANY LIMITED 1994

### REPORTERS

ANTHONY H SLATER QC JUSTINE BEAUMONT DR J M BENNETT PENELOPE BROWN CARLA BUCKLEY JOHN CARVAN PETER HANKS NICHOLAS ILES VICTOR KLINE MARK LEEMING IAN PIKE RODEN PRITCHARD BRUCE G SMITH MATTHEW SMITH ANDREW STRUM KRISTEN WALKER CAROL WEBSTER

PRODUCTION EDITORS
LYDIA PAPANDREA
KYLIE JEROME

Published in Sydney by
The Law Book Company Limited
44-50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW
568 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne, Victoria
40 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland
81 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 0813-7803

© The Law Book Company Limited 1994

## FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

### CHIEF JUSTICE

### THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL ERIC JOHN BLACK

### JUDGES

THE	HONOURABLE	CHARLES AUGUSTINE SWEENEY, CBE
THE	HONOURABLE	RAYMOND MOYLE NORTHROP
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	JOHN AUGUSTINE KEELY
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	JOHN FOSTER GALLOP
THE	HONOURABLE	JOHN DARYL DAVIES
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	JOHN STANLEY LOCKHART
THE	HONOURABLE	IAN FITZHARDINGE SHEPPARD, AO
THE	HONOURABLE	TREVOR REES MORLING
THE	HONOURABLE	KENNETH JOSEPH JENKINSON
THE	HONOURABLE	ALAN REGINALD NEAVES
THE	HONOURABLE	BRYAN ALAN BEAUMONT
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	MURRAY RUTLEDGE WILCOX
THE	HONOURABLE	JEFFREY ERNEST JOHN SPENDER
Тне	HONOURABLE	PETER ROSS AWDRY GRAY
THE	HONOURABLE	JAMES CHARLES SHOLTO BURCHETT
Тне	HONOURABLE	JEFFREY ALLAN MILES
THE	HONOURABLE	DONNELL MICHAEL RYAN
Тне	HONOURABLE	WILLIAM MONTAGUE CHARLES GUMMOW
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	ROBERT SHENTON FRENCH
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	MARCUS RICHARD EINFELD
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	MICHAEL LEADER FOSTER
THE	HONOURABLE	ALASTAIR BOTHWICK NICHOLSON, AO, RFD
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	MALCOLM CAMERON LEE
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	HOWARD WILLIAM OLNEY
Тне	HONOURABLE	JOHN WILLIAM VON DOUSSA
ТΉЕ	Ho nourable	DONALD GRAHAM HILL
Тне	HONOURABLE	Maurice Francis O'Loughlin
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	DEIRDRE FRANCES O'CONNOR
THE	HONOURABLE	TERENCE JOHN HIGGINS

THE HONOURABLE PETER CADDEN HEEREY

THE HONOURABLE DOUGLAS PATON DRUMMOND

THE HONOURABLE RICHARD ELLARD COOPER

THE HONOURABLE ANTONY PHILIP WHITLAM

THE HONOURABLE MARGARET JOAN BEAZLEY

THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER JOHN SEYMOUR METFORD CARR

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL FRANCIS MOORE (appointed 28 March 1994)

THE HONOURABLE CATHERINE MARGARET BRANSON

THE HONOURABLE KEVIN EDMUND LINDGREN (appointed 28 July 1994)

THE HONOURABLE BRIAN JOHN TAMBERLIN (appointed 31 August 1994)