1994

THE FEDERAL COURT REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

> editor VICTOR KLINE

> > Barrister-at-Law

CONSULTING EDITOR DAVID CATTERNS QC

VOLUME 50

THE LAW BOOK COMPANY LIMITED

1994

REPORTERS

ANTHONY H SLATER QC DR J M BENNETT JUSTINE BEAUMONT PENNY BROWN CARLA BUCKLEY JOHN CARVAN RONALD J DESIATNIK PETER HANKS NICHOLAS ILES VICTOR KLINE Ian Pike RODEN PRITCHARD MATTHEW SMITH ANDREW STRUM KRISTEN WALKER CAROL WEBSTER

PRODUCTION EDITORS LYDIA PAPANDREA KYLIE JEROME

Published in Sydney by The Law Book Company Limited 44-50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW 568 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne, Victoria 40 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland 81 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 0813-7803

© The Law Book Company Limited 1994

Typeset by the Law Book Company Ltd, North Ryde, NSW Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW

FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

CHIEF JUSTICE

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL ERIC JOHN BLACK

JUDGES

Т'nе	HONOURABLE	CHARLES AUGUSTINE SWEENEY, CBE
Тне	HONOURABLE	RAYMOND MOYLE NORTHROP
Тне	HONOURABLE	John Augustine Keely
Т'nе	HONOURABLE	John Foster Gallop
Тне	HONOURABLE	John Daryl Davies
Т'nе	HONOURABLE	John Stanley Lockhart
Т'nе	HONOURABLE	Ian Fitzhardinge Sheppard, ao
THE	HONOURABLE	TREVOR REES MORLING
Тне	Honourable	Kenneth Joseph Jenkinson
Тне	Honourable	Alan Reginald Neaves
THE	HONOURABLE	BRYAN ALAN BEAUMONT
Тне	Honourable	MURRAY RUTLEDGE WILCOX
THE	HONOURABLE	Jeffrey Ernest John Spender
THE	HONOURABLE	Peter Ross Awdry Gray
Тне	Honourable	James Charles Sholto Burchett
Тне	HONOURABLE	Jeffrey Allan Miles
THE	Honourable	Donnell Michael Ryan
Т'nе	HONOURABLE	WILLIAM MONTAGUE CHARLES GUMMOW
Тне	HONOURABLE	ROBERT SHENTON FRENCH
THE	HONOURABLE	MARCUS RICHARD EINFELD
Тне	Honourable	MICHAEL LEADER FOSTER
THE	HONOURABLE	ALASTAIR BOTHWICK NICHOLSON, AO, RFD
THE	HONOURABLE	MALCOLM CAMERON LEE
Тне	Honourable	HOWARD WILLIAM OLNEY
Тне	HONOURABLE	John William von Doussa
Тне	Honourable	Donald Graham Hill
THE	HONOURABLE	MAURICE FRANCIS O'LOUGHLIN
Тне	HONOURABLE	Deirdre Frances O'Connor
Тне	HONOURABLE	TERENCE JOHN HIGGINS
Тне	HONOURABLE	Peter Cadden Heerey

- THE HONOURABLE DOUGLAS PATON DRUMMOND
- THE HONOURABLE RICHARD ELLARD COOPER
- THE HONOURABLE ANTONY PHILIP WHITLAM
- THE HONOURABLE MARGARET JOAN BEAZLEY
- The Honourable Christopher John Seymour Metford Carr
- THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL FRANCIS MOORE
- THE HONOURABLE CATHERINE MARGARET BRANSON
- THE HONOURABLE JANE HAMILTON MATHEWS (appointed 4 July 1994)
- THE HONOURABLE KEVIN EDMUND LINDGREN
- THE HONOURABLE BRIAN JOHN TAMBERLIN
- THE HONOURABLE RONALD SACKVILLE (appointed 19 September 1994)
- THE HONOURABLE SUSAN MARY KIEFEL (appointed 17 October 1994)