1994

THE FEDERAL COURT REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

EDITOR VICTOR KLINE

Barrister-at-Law

CONSULTING EDITOR
DAVID CATTERNS QC

VOLUME 53

THE LAW BOOK COMPANY LIMITED

1995

REPORTERS

ANTHONY H SLATER QC JUSTINE BEAUMONT PENNY BROWN CARLA BUCKLEY CHRIS CALEO JOHN CARVAN RONALD J DESIATNIK MARY DESSES COLIN GOLVAN PETER HANKS NICHOLAS ILES SUSANNA KHOURI VICTOR KLINE RICHARD LANCASTER MARK LEEMING IAN PIKE **BRIAN PRESTON** RODEN PRITCHARD MATTHEW SMITH ANDREW STRUM KRISTEN WALKER CAROL WEBSTER

PRODUCTION EDITOR LYDIA PAPANDREA

Published in Sydney by
The Law Book Company Limited
44-50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW
568 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne, Victoria
40 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland
77 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 0813-7803

© The Law Book Company Limited 1995

Typeset by the Law Book Company Ltd, North Ryde, NSW Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW

FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

CHIEF JUSTICE

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL ERIC JOHN BLACK

JUDGES

THE	HONOURABLE	CHARLES AUGUSTINE SWEENEY, CBE
Тне	HONOURABLE	RAYMOND MOYLE NORTHROP
Тне	HONOURABLE	JOHN AUGUSTINE KEELY
THE	HONOURABLE	JOHN FOSTER GALLOP
Тне	HONOURABLE	JOHN DARYL DAVIES
Тне	HONOURABLE	JOHN STANLEY LOCKHART, AO
Тне	HONOURABLE	IAN FITZHARDINGE SHEPPARD, AO
Тне	HONOURABLE	KENNETH JOSEPH JENKINSON
Тне	HONOURABLE	ALAN REGINALD NEAVES
Тне	HONOURABLE	BRYAN ALAN BEAUMONT
Тне	HONOURABLE	MURRAY RUTLEDGE WILCOX
Тне	HONOURABLE	JEFFREY ERNEST JOHN SPENDER
Тне	HONOURABLE	PETER ROSS AWDRY GRAY
Тне	HONOURABLE	JAMES CHARLES SHOLTO BURCHETT
Тне	HONOURABLE	JEFFREY ALLAN MILES, AO
Тне	HONOURABLE	DONNELL MICHAEL RYAN
Тне	HONOURABLE	WILLIAM MONTAGUE CHARLES GUMMOW
Тне	HONOURABLE	ROBERT SHENTON FRENCH
Тне	HONOURABLE	MARCUS RICHARD EINFELD
Тне	HONOURABLE	MICHAEL LEADER FOSTER
Тне	HONOURABLE	ALASTAIR BOTHWICK NICHOLSON; AO, RFD
Тне	HONOURABLE	MALCOLM CAMERON LEE
Тне	HONOURABLE	HOWARD WILLIAM OLNEY
Тне	HONOURABLE	JOHN WILLIAM VON DOUSSA
Тне	HONOURABLE	DONALD GRAHAM HILL
Тне	HONOURABLE	Maurice Francis O'Loughlin
Тне	HONOURABLE	DEIRDRE FRANCES O'CONNOR
Тне	HONOURABLE	TERENCE JOHN HIGGINS
THE	HONOURABLE	PETER CADDEN HEEREY

THE HONOURABLE DOUGLAS PATON DRUMMOND

THE HONOURABLE RICHARD ELLARD COOPER

THE HONOURABLE ANTONY PHILIP WHITLAM

THE HONOURABLE MARGARET JOAN BEAZLEY

THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER JOHN SEYMOUR METFORD CARR

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL FRANCIS MOORE

THE HONOURABLE CATHERINE MARGARET BRANSON

THE HONOURABLE JANE HAMILTON MATHEWS

THE HONOURABLE KEVIN EDMUND LINDGREN

THE HONOURABLE BRIAN JOHN MICHAEL TAMBERLIN

THE HONOURABLE RONALD SACKVILLE

THE HONOURABLE SUSAN MARY KIEFEL