1994-1995

THE FEDERAL COURT REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

EDITOR VICTOR KLINE

Barrister-at-Law

CONSULTING EDITOR
DAVID CATTERNS QC

VOLUME 54

LBC INFORMATION SERVICES
1995

REPORTERS

ANTHONY H SLATER OC JUSTINE BEAUMONT PENNY BROWN CARLA BUCKLEY CHRIS CALEO JOHN CARVAN RONALD J DESIATNIK MARY DESSES COLIN GOLVAN PETER HANKS NICHOLAS ILES SUSANNA KHOURI VICTOR KLINE RICHARD LANCASTER MARK LEEMING IAN PIKE **BRIAN PRESTON** RODEN PRITCHARD MATTHEW SMITH ANDREW STRUM KRISTEN WALKER CAROL WEBSTER

PRODUCTION EDITOR
LYDIA PAPANDREA

Published in Sydney by LBC Information Services 50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW 568 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne, Victoria 40 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland 77 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 0813-7803

© LBC Information Services

Typeset by LBC Information Services, North Ryde, NSW Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW

FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

CHIEF JUSTICE

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL ERIC JOHN BLACK

JUDGES

THE HONOURABLE CHARLES AUGUSTINE SWEENEY, CBE	3
(retired 29 June 1995)	
THE HONOURABLE RAYMOND MOYLE NORTHROP	
The Havern Dr. Lory Average Very	

THE HONOURABLE JOHN AUGUSTINE KEELY

THE HONOURABLE JOHN FOSTER GALLOP

THE HONOURABLE JOHN DARYL DAVIES

THE HONOURABLE JOHN STANLEY LOCKHART, AO

THE HONOURABLE IAN FITZHARDINGE SHEPPARD, AO

THE HONOURABLE KENNETH JOSEPH JENKINSON

THE HONOURABLE ALAN REGINALD NEAVES (retired 8 January 1995)

THE HONOURABLE BRYAN ALAN BEAUMONT

THE HONOURABLE MURRAY RUTLEDGE WILCOX

THE HONOURABLE JEFFREY ERNEST JOHN SPENDER

THE HONOURABLE PETER ROSS AWDRY GRAY

THE HONOURABLE JAMES CHARLES SHOLTO BURCHETT

THE HONOURABLE JEFFREY ALLAN MILES, AO

THE HONOURABLE DONNELL MICHAEL RYAN

THE HONOURABLE WILLIAM MONTAGUE CHARLES GUMMOW

THE HONOURABLE ROBERT SHENTON FRENCH

THE HONOURABLE MARCUS RICHARD EINFELD

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL LEADER FOSTER

THE HONOURABLE ALASTAIR BOTHWICK NICHOLSON, AO, RFD

THE HONOURABLE MALCOLM CAMERON LEE

THE HONOURABLE HOWARD WILLIAM OLNEY

THE HONOURABLE JOHN WILLIAM VON DOUSSA

THE HONOURABLE DONALD GRAHAM HILL

THE HONOURABLE MAURICE FRANCIS O'LOUGHLIN

THE HONOURABLE DEIRDRE FRANCES O'CONNOR

THE HONOURABLE TERENCE JOHN HIGGINS

THE HONOURABLE PETER CADDEN HEEREY

THE HONOURABLE DOUGLAS PATON DRUMMOND

THE HONOURABLE RICHARD ELLARD COOPER

THE HONOURABLE ANTONY PHILIP WHITLAM

THE HONOURABLE MARGARET JOAN BEAZLEY

THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER JOHN SEYMOUR METFORD CARR

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL FRANCIS MOORE

THE HONOURABLE CATHERINE MARGARET BRANSON

THE HONOURABLE JANE HAMILTON MATHEWS

THE HONOURABLE KEVIN EDMUND LINDGREN

THE HONOURABLE BRIAN JOHN MICHAEL TAMBERLIN

THE HONOURABLE RONALD SACKVILLE

THE HONOURABLE SUSAN MARY KIEFEL

THE HONOURABLE ROBERT DAVID NICHOLSON (appointed 1 January 1995)

THE HONOURABLE PAUL DESMOND FINN (appointed 3 July 1995)

THE HONOURABLE ROSS ALAN SUNDBERG (appointed 10 July 1995)

THE HONOURABLE SHANE RAYMOND MARSHALL (appointed 17 July 1995)

MEMORANDA

1995	
January 1	Appointment of The Honourable Robert David Nicholson, a Judge of the Supreme Court of Western Australia, to the office of a Judge of the Federal Court of Australia.
January 7	Retirement of The Honourable Alan Reginald Neaves from the office of a Judge of the Federal Court of Australia.
June 29	Retirement of The Honourable Charles Augustine Sweeney, CBE, from the office of a Judge of the Federal Court of Australia.
July 3	Appointment of Professor Paul Desmond Finn, to the office of a Judge of the Federal Court of Australia.
July 10	Appointment of Ross Alan Sundberg, QC, to the office of a Judge of the Federal Court of Australia.
	Appointment of Shane Raymond Marshall, to the office of a Judge of the Federal Court of Australia.