1995

THE FEDERAL COURT REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

> EDITOR VICTOR KLINE

> > Barrister-at-Law

CONSULTING EDITOR
DAVID CATTERNS QC

VOLUME 57

LBC INFORMATION SERVICES
1996

REPORTERS

ANTHONY H SLATER QC
JUSTINE BEAUMONT
CARLA BUCKLEY
PETER HANKS
NICHOLAS ILES
SUSANNA KHOURI
VICTOR KLINE
RICHARD LANCASTER
LAN PIKE
BRIAN PRESTON
RODEN PRITCHARD
MATTHEW SMITH
CAROL WEBSTER
JOHN WILSON
IAN WALLER

PRODUCTION EDITORS
LYDIA PAPANDREA
HELEN MAMAS

Published in Sydney by LBC Information Services 50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW 560 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne, Victoria 40 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland 77 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 0813-7803

© 1996 The Law Book Company Limited t/as LBC Information Services

FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

CHIEF JUSTICE

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL ERIC JOHN BLACK

JUDGES

THE HONOURABLE RAYMOND MOYLE NORTHROP

THE HONOURABLE JOHN AUGUSTINE KEELY (retired 29 February 1996)

THE HONOURABLE JOHN FOSTER GALLOP

THE HONOURABLE JOHN DARYL DAVIES

THE HONOURABLE JOHN STANLEY LOCKHART, AO

THE HONOURABLE IAN FITZHARDINGE SHEPPARD, AO

THE HONOURABLE KENNETH JOSEPH JENKINSON

THE HONOURABLE BRYAN ALAN BEAUMONT

THE HONOURABLE MURRAY RUTLEDGE WILCOX

THE HONOURABLE JEFFREY ERNEST JOHN SPENDER

THE HONOURABLE PETER ROSS AWDRY GRAY

THE HONOURABLE JAMES CHARLES SHOLTO BURCHETT

THE HONOURABLE JEFFREY ALLAN MILES, AO

THE HONOURABLE DONNELL MICHAEL RYAN

THE HONOURABLE WILLIAM MONTAGUE CHARLES GUMMOW

THE HONOURABLE ROBERT SHENTON FRENCH

THE HONOURABLE MARCUS RICHARD EINFELD

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL LEADER FOSTER

THE HONOURABLE ALASTAIR BOTHWICK NICHOLSON, AO, RFD

THE HONOURABLE MALCOLM CAMERON LEE

THE HONOURABLE HOWARD WILLIAM OLNEY

THE HONOURABLE JOHN WILLIAM VON DOUSSA

THE HONOURABLE DONALD GRAHAM HILL

THE HONOURABLE MAURICE FRANCIS O'LOUGHLIN

THE HONOURABLE DEIRDRE FRANCES O'CONNOR

THE HONOURABLE TERENCE JOHN HIGGINS

THE HONOURABLE PETER CADDEN HEEREY

THE HONOURABLE DOUGLAS PATON DRUMMOND

THE HONOURABLE RICHARD ELLARD COOPER

THE HONOURABLE ANTONY PHILIP WHITLAM

THE HONOURABLE MARGARET JOAN BEAZLEY

THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER JOHN SEYMOUR METFORD CARR

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL FRANCIS MOORE

THE HONOURABLE CATHERINE MARGARET BRANSON

THE HONOURABLE JANE HAMILTON MATHEWS

THE HONOURABLE KEVIN EDMUND LINDGREN

THE HONOURABLE BRIAN JOHN MICHAEL TAMBERLIN

THE HONOURABLE RONALD SACKVILLE

THE HONOURABLE SUSAN MARY KIEFEL

THE HONOURABLE ROBERT DAVID NICHOLSON

THE HONOURABLE PAUL DESMOND FINN

THE HONOURABLE ROSS ALAN SUNDBERG

THE HONOURABLE SHANE RAYMOND MARSHALL

THE HONOURABLE JOHN ROBERT FELIX LEHANE

THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY MAX NORTH

THE HONOURABLE RODNEY NEVILLE MADGWICK

THE HONOURABLE RONALD MERKEL (appointed 5 February 1996)