# 1995-1996

# THE FEDERAL COURT REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

EDITOR VICTOR KLINE

Barrister-at-Law

CONSULTING EDITOR
DAVID CATTERNS QC

VOLUME 61

LBC INFORMATION SERVICES 1996

#### REPORTERS

JUSTINE BEAUMONT
DR J M BENNETT
CARLA BUCKLEY
JOHN CARVAN
RONALD J DESIATNIK
NICHOLAS ILES
SUSANNA KHOURI
VICTOR KLINE
IAN PIKE
RODEN PRITCHARD
MATTHEW SMITH
KRISTEN WALKER
ANNE WARDELL

PRODUCTION EDITOR
LYDIA PAPANDREA

Published in Sydney by LBC Information Services 50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW 40 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland 77 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 0813-7803

© 1996 The Law Book Company Limited t/as LBC Information Services

# FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

# CHIEF JUSTICE

# THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL ERIC JOHN BLACK

### **JUDGES**

ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	RAYMOND MOYLE NORTHROP
THE	HONOURABLE	JOHN FOSTER GALLOP
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	JOHN DARYL DAVIES
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	JOHN STANLEY LOCKHART, AO
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	IAN FITZHARDINGE SHEPPARD, AO
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	KENNETH JOSEPH JENKINSON
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	BRYAN ALAN BEAUMONT
THE	HONOURABLE	MURRAY RUTLEDGE WILCOX
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	JEFFREY ERNEST JOHN SPENDER
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	PETER ROSS AWDRY GRAY
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	JAMES CHARLES SHOLTO BURCHETT
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	JEFFREY ALLAN MILES, AO
THE	HONOURABLE	DONNELL MICHAEL RYAN
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	ROBERT SHENTON FRENCH
Тне	HONOURABLE	MARCUS RICHARD EINFELD
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	MICHAEL LEADER FOSTER
Тне	HONOURABLE	ALASTAIR BOTHWICK NICHOLSON, AO, RFD
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	MALCOLM CAMERON LEE
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	HOWARD WILLIAM OLNEY
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	JOHN WILLIAM VON DOUSSA
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	DONALD GRAHAM HILL
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	Maurice Francis O'Loughlin
Тне	HONOURABLE	DEIRDRE FRANCES O'CONNOR
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	TERENCE JOHN HIGGINS
Тне	HONOURABLE	PETER CADDEN HEEREY
Тне	HONOURABLE	DOUGLAS PATON DRUMMOND
Тне	HONOURABLE	RICHARD ELLARD COOPER
Тне	HONOURABLE	ANTONY PHILIP WHITLAM
Тне	HONOURABLE	MARGARET JOAN BEAZLEY
Тне	HONOURABLE	CHRISTOPHER JOHN SEYMOUR

METFORD CARR

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL FRANCIS MOORE

THE HONOURABLE CATHERINE MARGARET BRANSON

THE HONOURABLE JANE HAMILTON MATHEWS

THE HONOURABLE KEVIN EDMUND LINDGREN

THE HONOURABLE BRIAN JOHN MICHAEL TAMBERLIN

THE HONOURABLE RONALD SACKVILLE

THE HONOURABLE SUSAN MARY KIEFEL

THE HONOURABLE ROBERT DAVID NICHOLSON

THE HONOURABLE PAUL DESMOND FINN

THE HONOURABLE ROSS ALAN SUNDBERG

THE HONOURABLE SHANE RAYMOND MARSHALL

THE HONOURABLE JOHN ROBERT FELIX LEHANE

THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY MAX NORTH

THE HONOURABLE RODNEY NEVILLE MADGWICK

THE HONOURABLE RONALD MERKEL