1996

THE FEDERAL COURT REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

EDITOR VICTOR KLINE

Barrister-at-Law

CONSULTING EDITOR
DAVID CATTERNS QC

VOLUME 66

LBC INFORMATION SERVICES
1997

REPORTERS

JUSTINE BEAUMONT DR JOHN BENNETT CARLA BUCKLEY CHRISTOPHER CALEO JOHN CARVAN RONALD J DESIATNIK COLIN GOLVAN PETER HANKS ANDREW HOMER SUSANNA KHOURI VICTOR KLINE IAN PIKE RODEN PRITCHARD MATTHEW SMITH ANNE WARDELL CAROL WEBSTER

PRODUCTION EDITOR
LYDIA PAPANDREA

Published in Sydney by LBC Information Services 50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW 40 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland 77 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 0813-7803

© 1997 The Law Book Company Limited t/as LBC Information Services

Typeset by LBC Information Services, North Ryde, NSW Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW

FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

CHIEF JUSTICE

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL ERIC JOHN BLACK

JUDGES

THE	HONOURABLE	RAYMOND MOYLE NORTHROP
Тне	HONOURABLE	JOHN FOSTER GALLOP
Тне	HONOURABLE	JOHN DARYL DAVIES
THE	HONOURABLE	JOHN STANLEY LOCKHART, AO
Тне	HONOURABLE	IAN FITZHARDINGE SHEPPARD, AO
Тне	HONOURABLE	KENNETH JOSEPH JENKINSON
THE	HONOURABLE	BRYAN ALAN BEAUMONT
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	MURRAY RUTLEDGE WILCOX
Тне	HONOURABLE	JEFFREY ERNEST JOHN SPENDER
THE	HONOURABLE	PETER ROSS AWDRY GRAY
Тне	HONOURABLE	JAMES CHARLES SHOLTO BURCHETT
Тне	HONOURABLE	JEFFREY ALLAN MILES, AO
Тне	HONOURABLE	DONNELL MICHAEL RYAN
Тне	HONOURABLE	ROBERT SHENTON FRENCH
THE	HONOURABLE	MARCUS RICHARD EINFELD
Тне	HONOURABLE	MICHAEL LEADER FOSTER
Тне	HONOURABLE	ALASTAIR BOTHWICK NICHOLSON, AO, RFD
Тне	HONOURABLE	MALCOLM CAMERON LEE
ТΉЕ	HONOURABLE	HOWARD WILLIAM OLNEY
Тне	HONOURABLE	JOHN WILLIAM VON DOUSSA
THE	HONOURABLE	DONALD GRAHAM HILL
Тне	HONOURABLE	Maurice Francis O'Loughlin
Тне	HONOURABLE	DEIRDRE FRANCES O'CONNOR
Тне	HONOURABLE	TERENCE JOHN HIGGINS
Тне	HONOURABLE	PETER CADDEN HEEREY
Тне	HONOURABLE	DOUGLAS PATON DRUMMOND
Тне	HONOURABLE	RICHARD ELLARD COOPER
THE	HONOURABLE	ANTONY PHILIP WHITLAM
THE	HONOURABLE	MARGARET JOAN BEAZLEY

(appointed to the office of a Justice of the New South Wales Court of Appeal on 29 April 1996)

THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER JOHN SEYMOUR METFORD CARR

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL FRANCIS MOORE

THE HONOURABLE CATHERINE MARGARET BRANSON

THE HONOURABLE JANE HAMILTON MATHEWS

THE HONOURABLE KEVIN EDMUND LINDGREN

THE HONOURABLE BRIAN JOHN MICHAEL TAMBERLIN

THE HONOURABLE RONALD SACKVILLE

THE HONOURABLE SUSAN MARY KIEFEL

THE HONOURABLE ROBERT DAVID NICHOLSON

THE HONOURABLE PAUL DESMOND FINN

THE HONOURABLE ROSS ALAN SUNDBERG

THE HONOURABLE SHANE RAYMOND MARSHALL

THE HONOURABLE JOHN ROBERT FELIX LEHANE

THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY MAX NORTH

THE HONOURABLE RODNEY NEVILLE MADGWICK

THE HONOURABLE RONALD MERKEL

THE HONOURABLE JOHN RONALD MANSFIELD