1996

THE FEDERAL COURT REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

EDITOR VICTOR KLINE

Barrister-at-Law

CONSULTING EDITOR
DAVID CATTERNS QC

VOLUME 68

LBC INFORMATION SERVICES
1997

REPORTERS

RICHARD R S TRACEY QC
DR JOHN BENNETT
CARLA BUCKLEY
CHRISTOPHER CALEO
JOHN CARVAN
DR RONALD J DESIATNIK
MALCOLM EVANS
ANDREW HOMER
NICHOLAS ILES
VICTOR KLINE
IAN PIKE
RODEN PRITCHARD
MATTHEW SMITH
KRISTEN WALKER
ANNE WARDELL

PRODUCTION EDITORS
LYDIA PAPANDREA
PAUL O' BEIRNE

Published in Sydney by LBC Information Services 50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW 239 George Street, Brisbane, Queensland 77 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 0813-7803

© 1997 The Law Book Company Limited t/as LBC Information Services

Typeset by Mercier Typesetters, Granville, NSW Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW

FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

CHIEF JUSTICE

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL ERIC JOHN BLACK

JUDGES

Тне	HONOURABLE	RAYMOND MOYLE NORTHROP
THE	HONOURABLE	JOHN FOSTER GALLOP
THE	HONOURABLE	JOHN DARYL DAVIES
THE	HONOURABLE	JOHN STANLEY LOCKHART, AO
THE	HONOURABLE	IAN FITZHARDINGE SHEPPARD, AO
THE	HONOURABLE	KENNETH JOSEPH JENKINSON
THE	HONOURABLE	BRYAN ALAN BEAUMONT
THE	HONOURABLE	MURRAY RUTLEDGE WILCOX
THE	HONOURABLE	JEFFREY ERNEST JOHN SPENDER
THE	HONOURABLE	PETER ROSS AWDRY GRAY
THE	HONOURABLE	JAMES CHARLES SHOLTO BURCHETT
THE	HONOURABLE	JEFFREY ALLAN MILES, AO
THE	HONOURABLE	DONNELL MICHAEL RYAN
THE	HONOURABLE	ROBERT SHENTON FRENCH
THE	HONOURABLE	MARCUS RICHARD EINFELD
THE	HONOURABLE	MICHAEL LEADER FOSTER
THE	Honourable	ALASTAIR BOTHWICK NICHOLSON, AO, RFD
THE	HONOURABLE	MALCOLM CAMERON LEE
THE	HONOURABLE	HOWARD WILLIAM OLNEY
THE	HONOURABLE	John William von Doussa
THE	HONOURABLE	DONALD GRAHAM HILL
THE	HONOURABLE	Maurice Francis O'Loughlin
THE	HONOURABLE	DEIRDRE FRANCES O'CONNOR
THE	HONOURABLE	TERENCE JOHN HIGGINS
THE	HONOURABLE	PETER CADDEN HEEREY
THE	HONOURABLE	DOUGLAS PATON DRUMMOND
THE	HONOURABLE	RICHARD ELLARD COOPER
THE	HONOURABLE	ANTONY PHILIP WHITLAM
THE	HONOURABLE	CHRISTOPHER JOHN SEYMOUR

METFORD CARR

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL FRANCIS MOORE

THE HONOURABLE CATHERINE MARGARET BRANSON

THE HONOURABLE JANE HAMILTON MATHEWS

THE HONOURABLE KEVIN EDMUND LINDGREN

THE HONOURABLE BRIAN JOHN MICHAEL TAMBERLIN

THE HONOURABLE RONALD SACKVILLE

THE HONOURABLE SUSAN MARY KIEFEL

THE HONOURABLE ROBERT DAVID NICHOLSON

THE HONOURABLE PAUL DESMOND FINN

THE HONOURABLE ROSS ALAN SUNDBERG

THE HONOURABLE SHANE RAYMOND MARSHALL

THE HONOURABLE JOHN ROBERT FELIX LEHANE

THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY MAX NORTH

THE HONOURABLE RODNEY NEVILLE MADGWICK

THE HONOURABLE RONALD MERKEL

THE HONOURABLE JOHN RONALD MANSFIELD

THE HONOURABLE RAYMOND ANTHONY FINKLESTEIN (appointed 21 July 1997)