1996

THE FEDERAL COURT REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

EDITOR VICTOR KLINE

Barrister-at-Law

CONSULTING EDITOR
DAVID CATTERNS QC

VOLUME 70

LBC INFORMATION SERVICES
1997

REPORTERS

RICHARD R S TRACEY QC
DR J M BENNETT
CHRISTOPHER CALEO
JOHN CARVAN
DR RONALD J DESIATNIK
MALCOLM EVANS
ANDREW HOMER
NICHOLAS ILES
VICTOR KLINE
IAN PIKE
RODEN PRITCHARD
MATTHEW SMITH
ANNE WARDELL
CAROL WEBSTER

PRODUCTION EDITORS
LYDIA PAPANDREA
PAUL O' BEIRNE

Published in Sydney by
LBC Information Services
50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW
239 George Street, Brisbane, Queensland
77 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 0813-7803

© 1997 The Law Book Company Limited t/as LBC Information Services

Typeset by Mercier Typesetters, Granville, NSW Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW

FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

CHIEF JUSTICE

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL ERIC JOHN BLACK

JUDGES

THE	HONOURABLE	RAYMOND MOYLE NORTHROP
Тне	HONOURABLE	JOHN FOSTER GALLOP
Тне	HONOURABLE	JOHN DARYL DAVIES
Тне	HONOURABLE	JOHN STANLEY LOCKHART, AO
Тне	HONOURABLE	IAN FITZHARDINGE SHEPPARD, AO
Тне	HONOURABLE	KENNETH JOSEPH JENKINSON
Тне	HONOURABLE	BRYAN ALAN BEAUMONT
Тне	HONOURABLE	MURRAY RUTLEDGE WILCOX
Тне	HONOURABLE	JEFFREY ERNEST JOHN SPENDER
THE	HONOURABLE	PETER ROSS AWDRY GRAY
Тне	HONOURABLE	JAMES CHARLES SHOLTO BURCHETT
Тне	HONOURABLE	JEFFREY ALLAN MILES, AO
Тне	HONOURABLE	DONNELL MICHAEL RYAN
Тне	HONOURABLE	ROBERT SHENTON FRENCH
Тне	HONOURABLE	MARCUS RICHARD EINFELD
Тне	HONOURABLE	MICHAEL LEADER FOSTER
Тне	HONOURABLE	ALASTAIR BOTHWICK NICHOLSON, AO, RFD
Тне	HONOURABLE	MALCOLM CAMERON LEE
THE	HONOURABLE	HOWARD WILLIAM OLNEY
Тне	HONOURABLE	JOHN WILLIAM VON DOUSSA
Тне	HONOURABLE	DONALD GRAHAM HILL
Тне	HONOURABLE	Maurice Francis O'Loughlin
Тне	HONOURABLE	DEIRDRE FRANCES O'CONNOR
Тне	HONOURABLE	TERENCE JOHN HIGGINS
Тне	HONOURABLE	PETER CADDEN HEEREY
Тне	HONOURABLE	DOUGLAS PATON DRUMMOND
Тне	HONOURABLE	RICHARD ELLARD COOPER
Тне	HONOURABLE	ANTONY PHILIP WHITLAM
Тне	HONOURABLE	CHRISTOPHER JOHN SEYMOUR

METFORD CARR

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL FRANCIS MOORE

THE HONOURABLE CATHERINE MARGARET BRANSON

THE HONOURABLE JANE HAMILTON MATHEWS

THE HONOURABLE KEVIN EDMUND LINDGREN

THE HONOURABLE BRIAN JOHN MICHAEL TAMBERLIN

THE HONOURABLE RONALD SACKVILLE

THE HONOURABLE SUSAN MARY KIEFEL

THE HONOURABLE ROBERT DAVID NICHOLSON

THE HONOURABLE PAUL DESMOND FINN

THE HONOURABLE ROSS ALAN SUNDBERG

THE HONOURABLE SHANE RAYMOND MARSHALL

THE HONOURABLE JOHN ROBERT FELIX LEHANE

THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY MAX NORTH

THE HONOURABLE RODNEY NEVILLE MADGWICK

THE HONOURABLE RONALD MERKEL

THE HONOURABLE JOHN RONALD MANSFIELD

THE HONOURABLE ALAN HENRY GOLDBERG

THE HONOURABLE ARTHUR ROBERT EMMETT

THE HONOURABLE RAYMOND ANTONY FINKELSTEIN

THE HONOURABLE GEOFFREY MICHAEL GIUDICE (appointed 17 September 1997)