1997

THE FEDERAL COURT REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

> editor VICTOR KLINE

> > Barrister-at-Law

CONSULTING EDITOR DAVID CATTERNS QC

VOLUME 77

LBC INFORMATION SERVICES

1998

REPORTERS

DR J M BENNETT JOHN CARVAN DR RONALD J DESIATNIK PETER HANKS ANDREW HOMER CARMEL HOUGHTON NICHOLAS ILES VICTOR KLINE DAVID MACLEAN SASHI MAHARAJ IAN PIKE RODEN PRITCHARD MATTHEW SMITH CAROL WEBSTER JOHN WILSON

PRODUCTION EDITORS

PAUL O' BEIRNE JULIE SANDERS

Published in Sydney by LBC Information Services 50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW 239 George Street, Brisbane, Queensland 77 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 0813-7803

^c Thompson Professional Information Asia Pacific Pty Ltd t/as LBC Information Services 1998

> Typeset by Mercier Typesetters, Granville, NSW Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW

FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

CHIEF JUSTICE

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL ERIC JOHN BLACK, AC

JUDGES

THE HONOURABLE	RAYMOND MOYLE NORTHROP
THE HONOURABLE	John Foster Gallop, am, rfd
THE HONOURABLE	John Daryl Davies
THE HONOURABLE	John Stanley Lockhart, ao
THE HONOURABLE	Bryan Alan Beaumont
THE HONOURABLE	Murray Rutledge Wilcox
THE HONOURABLE	Jeffrey Ernest John Spender
THE HONOURABLE	Peter Ross Awdry Gray
THE HONOURABLE	James Charles Sholto Burchett
THE HONOURABLE	Jeffrey Allan Miles, ao
THE HONOURABLE	Donnell Michael Ryan
THE HONOURABLE	Robert Shenton French
THE HONOURABLE	Marcus Richard Einfeld, ao
THE HONOURABLE	MICHAEL LEADER FOSTER
THE HONOURABLE	ALASTAIR BOTHWICK NICHOLSON, AO, RFD
THE HONOURABLE	Malcolm Cameron Lee
THE HONOURABLE	Howard William Olney
THE HONOURABLE	John William von Doussa
THE HONOURABLE	Donald Graham Hill
THE HONOURABLE	Maurice Francis O'Loughlin
THE HONOURABLE	Deirdre Frances O'Connor
THE HONOURABLE	Terence John Higgins
THE HONOURABLE	Peter Cadden Heerey
THE HONOURABLE	Douglas Paton Drummond
THE HONOURABLE	Richard Ellard Cooper
THE HONOURABLE	Antony Philip Whitlam
	Christopher John Seymour
Metford Carr	
	MICHAEL FRANCIS MOORE
	CATHERINE MARGARET BRANSON
THE HONOURABLE	JANE HAMILTON MATHEWS

THE HONOURABLE KEVIN EDMUND LINDGREN THE HONOURABLE BRIAN JOHN MICHAEL TAMBERLIN THE HONOURABLE RONALD SACKVILLE THE HONOURABLE SUSAN MARY KIEFEL THE HONOURABLE ROBERT DAVID NICHOLSON THE HONOURABLE PAUL DESMOND FINN THE HONOURABLE ROSS ALAN SUNDBERG THE HONOURABLE SHANE RAYMOND MARSHALL THE HONOURABLE JOHN ROBERT FELIX LEHANE THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY MAX NORTH THE HONOURABLE RODNEY NEVILLE MADGWICK THE HONOURABLE RONALD MERKEL THE HONOURABLE JOHN RONALD MANSFIELD THE HONOURABLE ALAN HENRY GOLDBERG THE HONOURABLE ARTHUR ROBERT EMMETT THE HONOURABLE RAYMOND ANTONY FINKELSTEIN THE HONOURABLE GEOFFREY MICHAEL GIUDICE THE HONOURABLE MARK SAMUEL WEINBERG (appointed 15 July 1998)