2001

THE FEDERAL COURT REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

> editor VICTOR KLINE

> > Barrister-at-Law

CONSULTING EDITOR DAVID CATTERNS QC

VOLUME 113

LAWBOOK CO.

2002

REPORTERS

RICHARD R S TRACEY QC DR J M BENNETT DR RONALD J DESIATNIK JUSTINE BEAUMONT OREN BIGOS KATRINA HART OLIVER RICHARD JONES VICTOR KLINE KATRINA MORRIS RODEN PRITCHARD MATTHEW SMITH KRISTEN WALKER

PRODUCTION EDITOR

HELEN PONTIKIS

Published in Sydney by Lawbook Co. 100 Harris Street, Pyrmont, NSW

ISSN 0813-7803

THOMSON ————————————————————————————————————							
$\ensuremath{\mathbb{C}}$ Thomson Legal & Regulatory Limited ABN 64 058 914 668 trading as Lawbook Co.							
LAWBOOK CO.	АТР		BROOKERS	🔆 Sweet & Maxwell	Westletw.	A Lawpoint	CARSWELL

Typeset by Lawbook Co., Pyrmont, NSW Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW

FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

CHIEF JUSTICE

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL ERIC JOHN BLACK, AC

JUDGES

THE HONOURABLE BRYAN ALAN BEAUMONT THE HONOURABLE MURRAY RUTLEDGE WILCOX THE HONOURABLE JEFFREY ERNEST JOHN SPENDER THE HONOURABLE PETER ROSS AWDRY GRAY THE HONOURABLE JEFFREY ALLAN MILES, AO THE HONOURABLE DONNELL MICHAEL RYAN THE HONOURABLE ROBERT SHENTON FRENCH THE HONOURABLE ALASTAIR BOTHWICK NICHOLSON, AO, RFD THE HONOURABLE MALCOLM CAMERON LEE THE HONOURABLE HOWARD WILLIAM OLNEY THE HONOURABLE JOHN WILLIAM VON DOUSSA THE HONOURABLE DONALD GRAHAM HILL THE HONOURABLE MAURICE FRANCIS O'LOUGHLIN THE HONOURABLE DEIRDRE FRANCES O'CONNOR (resigned 5 March 2002) THE HONOURABLE TERENCE JOHN HIGGINS THE HONOURABLE PETER CADDEN HEEREY THE HONOURABLE DOUGLAS PATON DRUMMOND THE HONOURABLE RICHARD ELLARD COOPER THE HONOURABLE ANTONY PHILIP WHITLAM THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER JOHN SEYMOUR METFORD CARR THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL FRANCIS MOORE THE HONOURABLE CATHERINE MARGARET BRANSON THE HONOURABLE KEVIN EDMUND LINDGREN THE HONOURABLE BRIAN JOHN MICHAEL TAMBERLIN THE HONOURABLE RONALD SACKVILLE THE HONOURABLE SUSAN MARY KIEFEL THE HONOURABLE ROBERT DAVID NICHOLSON, AO

THE HONOURABLE PAUL DESMOND FINN THE HONOURABLE ROSS ALAN SUNDBERG THE HONOURABLE SHANE RAYMOND MARSHALL THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY MAX NORTH THE HONOURABLE RODNEY NEVILLE MADGWICK THE HONOURABLE RONALD MERKEL THE HONOURABLE JOHN RONALD MANSFIELD THE HONOURABLE ALAN HENRY GOLDBERG THE HONOURABLE ARTHUR ROBERT EMMETT THE HONOURABLE RAYMOND ANTONY FINKELSTEIN THE HONOURABLE GEOFFREY MICHAEL GIUDICE THE HONOURABLE MARK SAMUEL WEINBERG THE HONOURABLE JOHN ALFRED DOWSETT THE HONOURABLE LESLIE SYDNEY KATZ (resigned due to ill health 21 March 2002) THE HONOURABLE PETER GRAHAM HELY THE HONOURABLE SUSAN CORALIE KENNY THE HONOURABLE ROGER VINCENT GYLES, AO THE HONOURABLE RICHARD ALAN CONTI THE HONOURABLE MARGARET ACKARY STONE THE HONOURABLE JAMES LESLIE BAIN ALLSOP THE HONOURABLE GARRY KEITH DOWNES, AM (appointed 2 April 2002) THE HONOURABLE PETER MICHAEL JACOBSON (appointed 17 June 2002)