2002

THE FEDERAL COURT REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

> editor VICTOR KLINE

> > Barrister-at-Law

CONSULTING EDITOR DAVID CATTERNS QC

VOLUME 119

LAWBOOK CO.

2003

REPORTERS

DR J M BENNETT JUSTINE BEAUMONT OREN BIGOS CHRISTINA GEE KATRINA HART RODEN PRITCHARD KRISTEN WALKER

PRODUCTION EDITOR

HELEN PONTIKIS

Published in Sydney by Lawbook Co. 100 Harris Street, Pyrmont, NSW

ISSN 0813-7803

THOMSON LAWBOOK CO.							
© Thomson	Legal	& Regulat	ory Limited	ABN 64 058 914	668 trac	ling as Law	/book Co.
LAWBOOK CO.	ΑΤΡ		BROOKERS	Sweet & Maxwell	West aw	Lawpoint	CARSWELL

Typeset by Lawbook Co., Pyrmont, NSW Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW

FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

CHIEF JUSTICE

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL ERIC JOHN BLACK, AC

JUDGES

THE HONOLDADLE	Bryan Alan Beaumont
	MURRAY RUTLEDGE WILCOX
	JEFFREY ERNEST JOHN SPENDER
	Peter Ross Awdry Gray
THE HONOURABLE	Donnell Michael Ryan
THE HONOURABLE	ROBERT SHENTON FRENCH
THE HONOURABLE	Alastair Bothwick Nicholson, AO, RFD
The Honourable	MALCOLM CAMERON LEE
The Honourable	John William von Doussa
The Honourable	Donald Graham Hill
THE HONOURABLE	Terence John Higgins
THE HONOURABLE	Peter Cadden Heerey
THE HONOURABLE	Richard Ellard Cooper
THE HONOURABLE	Antony Philip Whitlam
	CHRISTOPHER JOHN SEYMOUR
Metford Carf	
THE HONOURABLE	Michael Francis Moore
THE HONOURABLE	CATHERINE MARGARET BRANSON
The Honourable	Kevin Edmund Lindgren
The Honourable	Brian John Michael Tamberlin
The Honourable	Ronald Sackville
The Honourable	Susan Mary Kiefel
THE HONOURABLE	ROBERT DAVID NICHOLSON, AO
THE HONOURABLE	Paul Desmond Finn
The Honourable	Ross Alan Sundberg
THE HONOURABLE	Shane Raymond Marshall
THE HONOURABLE	Anthony Max North
THE HONOURABLE	Rodney Neville Madgwick

THE HONOURABLE RONALD MERKEL THE HONOURABLE JOHN RONALD MANSFIELD THE HONOURABLE ALAN HENRY GOLDBERG THE HONOURABLE ARTHUR ROBERT EMMETT THE HONOURABLE RAYMOND ANTONY FINKELSTEIN THE HONOURABLE GEOFFREY MICHAEL GIUDICE THE HONOURABLE MARK SAMUEL WEINBERG THE HONOURABLE JOHN ALFRED DOWSETT THE HONOURABLE PETER GRAHAM HELY THE HONOURABLE SUSAN CORALIE KENNY THE HONOURABLE ROGER VINCENT GYLES, AO THE HONOURABLE RICHARD ALAN CONTI THE HONOURABLE MARGARET ACKARY STONE THE HONOURABLE JAMES LESLIE BAIN ALLSOP THE HONOURABLE GARRY KEITH DOWNES, AM THE HONOURABLE PETER MICHAEL JACOBSON THE HONOURABLE BRADLEY MAXWELL SELWAY THE HONOURABLE ANNABELLE CLAIRE BENNETT