2004-2005

THE FEDERAL COURT REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

EDITOR VICTOR KLINE

Barrister-at-Law

CONSULTING EDITOR
DAVID CATTERNS QC

VOLUME 142

LAWBOOK CO.

2005

REPORTERS

DAVID ASH
DR JM BENNETT
OREN BIGOS
KATE FENNESSY
NICHOLAS GOULIADITIS
MARION ISOBEL
RODEN PRITCHARD
SARAH SOMERSET
CATHERINE SYMONS
DAVID FC THOMAS
ALEXIS WALLACE

PRODUCTION EDITORS LINDA PEARSON ANNA COX

Published in Sydney by
Lawbook Co.
100 Harris Street, Pyrmont, NSW

ISSN 0813-7803

THOMSON

LAWBOOK CO.

© Thomson Legal & Regulatory Limited ABN 64 058 914 668 trading as Lawbook Co.

Typeset by Lawbook Co., Pyrmont, NSW Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW

FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

CHIEF JUSTICE

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL ERIC JOHN BLACK, AC

JUDGES

THE HONOURABLE BRYAN ALAN BEAUMONT, AO (resigned, 11 February 2005)

THE HONOURABLE MURRAY RUTLEDGE WILCOX

THE HONOURABLE JEFFREY ERNEST JOHN SPENDER

THE HONOURABLE PETER ROSS AWDRY GRAY

THE HONOURABLE DONNELL MICHAEL RYAN

THE HONOURABLE ROBERT SHENTON FRENCH

THE HONOURABLE MALCOLM CAMERON LEE

THE HONOURABLE DONALD GRAHAM HILL (died, 24 August 2005)

THE HONOURABLE TERENCE JOHN HIGGINS

THE HONOURABLE PETER CADDEN HEEREY

THE HONOURABLE RICHARD ELLARD COOPER (died, 14 March 2005)

THE HONOURABLE ANTONY PHILIP WHITLAM (resigned, 1 May 2005)

THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER JOHN SEYMOUR METFORD CARR (retired, 1 August 2005)

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL FRANCIS MOORE

THE HONOURABLE CATHERINE MARGARET BRANSON

THE HONOURABLE KEVIN EDMUND LINDGREN

THE HONOURABLE BRIAN JOHN MICHAEL TAMBERLIN

THE HONOURABLE RONALD SACKVILLE

THE HONOURABLE SUSAN MARY KIEFEL

THE HONOURABLE ROBERT DAVID NICHOLSON, AO

THE HONOURABLE PAUL DESMOND FINN

THE HONOURABLE ROSS ALAN SUNDBERG

THE HONOURABLE SHANE RAYMOND MARSHALL

THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY MAX NORTH

THE HONOURABLE RODNEY NEVILLE MADGWICK

THE HONOURABLE RONALD MERKEL

THE HONOURABLE JOHN RONALD MANSFIELD

THE HONOURABLE ALAN HENRY GOLDBERG, AO

THE HONOURABLE ARTHUR ROBERT EMMETT

THE HONOURABLE RAYMOND ANTONY FINKELSTEIN

THE HONOURABLE GEOFFREY MICHAEL GIUDICE

THE HONOURABLE MARK SAMUEL WEINBERG

THE HONOURABLE JOHN ALFRED DOWSETT

THE HONOURABLE PETER GRAHAM HELY (died, 1 October 2005)

THE HONOURABLE SUSAN CORALIE KENNY

THE HONOURABLE ROGER VINCENT GYLES, AO

THE HONOURABLE RICHARD ALAN CONTI

THE HONOURABLE MARGARET ACKARY STONE

THE HONOURABLE JAMES LESLIE BAIN ALLSOP

THE HONOURABLE GARRY KEITH DOWNES, AM

THE HOLLOCK IDEE OF MICE MEETING OF THE STATE

THE HONOURABLE PETER MICHAEL JACOBSON

THE HONOURABLE BRADLEY MAXWELL SELWAY (died, 10 April 2005)

THE HONOURABLE ANNABELLE CLAIRE BENNETT, AO

THE HONOURABLE BRUCE THOMAS LANDER

THE HONOURABLE SUSAN MAREE CRENNAN

THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY NICHOLAS SIOPIS (appointed, 14 April 2005)

THE HONOURABLE RICHARD FRANCIS EDMONDS (appointed, 5 May 2005)

THE HONOURABLE PETER ROSS GRAHAM (appointed, 24 May 2005)

THE HONOURABLE ANDREW PETER GREENWOOD (appointed, 4 August 2005)