## 2007

## THE

# FEDERAL COURT REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

EDITOR VICTOR KLINE

Barrister-at-Law

CONSULTING EDITOR
DAVID CATTERNS QC

VOLUME 163

LAWBOOK CO.

2008

#### REPORTERS

DAVID ASH
OREN BIGOS
TAMARA BOONE
MARION ISOBEL
EMRYS NEKVAPIL
RODEN PRITCHARD
STEPHEN REBIKOFF
SARAH SOMERSET
CHARLES SUTTIE
DAVID FC THOMAS
ALEXIS WALLACE

### PRODUCTION EDITOR

LINDA PEARSON

Published in Sydney by Lawbook Co. 100 Harris Street, Pyrmont, NSW

ISSN 0813-7803

#### **THOMSON**

#### LAWBOOK CO.

© Thomson Legal & Regulatory Limited ABN 64 058 914 668 trading as Lawbook Co.

Typeset by Lawbook Co., Pyrmont, NSW Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW

#### FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

#### CHIEF JUSTICE

#### THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL ERIC JOHN BLACK, AC

#### **JUDGES**

THE HONOURABLE MURRAY RUTLEDGE WILCOX (resigned, 1 October 2006)

THE HONOURABLE JEFFREY ERNEST JOHN SPENDER

THE HONOURABLE PETER ROSS AWDRY GRAY

THE HONOURABLE DONNELL MICHAEL RYAN

THE HONOURABLE ROBERT SHENTON FRENCH

THE HONOURABLE TERENCE JOHN HIGGINS

THE HONOURABLE PETER CADDEN HEEREY

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL FRANCIS MOORE

THE HONOURABLE CATHERINE MARGARET BRANSON

THE HONOURABLE KEVIN EDMUND LINDGREN

THE HONOURABLE BRIAN JOHN MICHAEL TAMBERLIN

THE HONOURABLE RONALD SACKVILLE

THE HONOURABLE SUSAN MARY KIEFEL (resigned, 3 September 2007)

THE HONOURABLE ROBERT DAVID NICHOLSON, AO (resigned, 7 August 2007)

THE HONOURABLE PAUL DESMOND FINN

THE HONOURABLE ROSS ALAN SUNDBERG

THE HONOURABLE SHANE RAYMOND MARSHALL

THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY MAX NORTH

THE HONOURABLE RODNEY NEVILLE MADGWICK

THE HONOURABLE JOHN RONALD MANSFIELD

THE HONOURABLE ALAN HENRY GOLDBERG, AO

THE HONOURABLE ARTHUR ROBERT EMMETT

THE HONOURABLE RAYMOND ANTONY FINKELSTEIN

THE HONOURABLE GEOFFREY MICHAEL GIUDICE

THE HONOURABLE MARK SAMUEL WEINBERG

THE HONOURABLE JOHN ALFRED DOWSETT THE HONOURABLE SUSAN CORALIE KENNY THE HONOURABLE ROGER VINCENT GYLES, AO

THE HONOURABLE RICHARD ALAN CONTI (resigned, 19 August 2007)

THE HONOURABLE MARGARET ACKARY STONE

THE HONOURABLE JAMES LESLIE BAIN ALLSOP

THE HONOURABLE GARRY KEITH DOWNES, AM

THE HONOURABLE PETER MICHAEL JACOBSON

THE HONOURABLE ANNABELLE CLAIRE BENNETT, AO

THE HONOURABLE BRUCE THOMAS LANDER

THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY NICHOLAS SIOPIS

THE HONOURABLE RICHARD FRANCIS EDMONDS

THE HONOURABLE PETER ROSS GRAHAM

THE HONOURABLE ANDREW PETER GREENWOOD

THE HONOURABLE NEIL JOHN YOUNG (resigned, 24 January 2007)

THE HONOURABLE STEVEN DAVID RARES

THE HONOURABLE BERNA COLLIER

RFD

THE HONOURABLE DENNIS ANTILL COWDROY, OAM

THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY JAMES BESANKO

THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER NEIL JESSUP

THE HONOURABLE RICHARD ROSS SINCLAIR TRACEY,

THE HONOURABLE JOHN ERIC MIDDLETON

THE HONOURABLE ROBERT JOHN BUCHANAN

THE HONOURABLE JOHN GILMOUR

THE HONOURABLE MICHELLE MARJORIE GORDON

THE HONOURABLE JOHN ALEXANDER LOGAN, RFD

THE HONOURABLE GEOFFREY ALAN FLICK

THE HONOURABLE NEIL WALTER MCKERRACHER

THE HONOURABLE JOHN EDWARD REEVES

## Corrigenda

161 FCR 429 at [27], line 7: insert "a" before "period of service".161 FCR 429 at [29], line 7: insert "the" before "Parliament".