# 2010-2011

## THE

# FEDERAL COURT REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

EDITOR VICTOR KLINE

Barrister-at-Law

CONSULTING EDITOR
DAVID CATTERNS QC

VOLUME 191

LAWBOOK CO.

2011

## SENIOR REPORTERS

OREN BIGOS
TAMARA BOONE
RODEN PRITCHARD
STEPHEN REBIKOFF
SARAH SOMERSET
ALEXIS WALLACE

REPORTERS
SHARON HANSTEIN
MITCH RILEY

PRODUCTION EDITOR
LINDA PEARSON



© 2011 Thomson Reuters (Professional) Australia Limited
ABN 64 058 914 668
Published in Sydney

Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW ISSN 0813-7803

Lawbook Co.

## FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

#### CHIEF JUSTICE

#### THE HONOURABLE PATRICK ANTHONY KEANE

#### **JUDGES**

THE HONOURABLE JEFFREY ERNEST JOHN SPENDER (resigned, 18 July 2010)

THE HONOURABLE PETER ROSS AWDRY GRAY

THE HONOURABLE DONNELL MICHAEL RYAN

THE HONOURABLE TERENCE JOHN HIGGINS, AO

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL FRANCIS MOORE

THE HONOURABLE PAUL DESMOND FINN

THE HONOURABLE ROSS ALAN SUNDBERG (resigned, 8 August 2010)

THE HONOURABLE SHANE RAYMOND MARSHALL

THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY MAX NORTH

THE HONOURABLE JOHN RONALD MANSFIELD, AM

THE HONOURABLE ALAN HENRY GOLDBERG, AO (resigned, 4 July 2010)

THE HONOURABLE ARTHUR ROBERT EMMETT

THE HONOURABLE RAYMOND ANTONY FINKELSTEIN

THE HONOURABLE GEOFFREY MICHAEL GIUDICE, AO

THE HONOURABLE JOHN ALFRED DOWSETT

THE HONOURABLE SUSAN CORALIE KENNY

THE HONOURABLE MARGARET ACKARY STONE

THE HONOURABLE GARRY KEITH DOWNES, AM

THE HONOURABLE PETER MICHAEL JACOBSON

THE HONOURABLE ANNABELLE CLAIRE BENNETT, AO

THE HONOURABLE BRUCE THOMAS LANDER

THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY NICHOLAS SIOPIS

THE HONOURABLE RICHARD FRANCIS EDMONDS

THE HONOURABLE PETER ROSS GRAHAM (retired, 5 September 2010)

THE HONOURABLE ANDREW PETER GREENWOOD

THE HONOURABLE STEVEN DAVID RARES

THE HONOURABLE BERNA COLLIER

THE HONOURABLE DENNIS ANTILL COWDROY, OAM

THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY JAMES BESANKO

THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER NEIL JESSUP

THE HONOURABLE RICHARD ROSS SINCLAIR TRACEY, RFD

THE HONOURABLE JOHN ERIC MIDDLETON

THE HONOURABLE ROBERT JOHN BUCHANAN

THE HONOURABLE JOHN GILMOUR

THE HONOURABLE MICHELLE MARJORIE GORDON

THE HONOURABLE JOHN ALEXANDER LOGAN, RFD

THE HONOURABLE GEOFFREY ALAN FLICK

THE HONOURABLE NEIL WALTER MCKERRACHER

THE HONOURABLE JOHN EDWARD REEVES

THE HONOURABLE NYE PERRAM

THE HONOURABLE JAYNE MARGARET JAGOT

THE HONOURABLE LINDSAY GRAEME FOSTER

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL LAURENCE BARKER

THE HONOURABLE JOHN VICTOR NICHOLAS

THE HOLOCKIEDE VOINT FIELD THE HOLDER

THE HONOURABLE DAVID MARKEY YATES

THE HONOURABLE MORDECAI BROMBERG

THE HONOURABLE JULIE ANNE DODDS-STREETON

THE HONOURABLE ANNE JUDITH KATZMANN

THE HONOURABLE ALAN ROBERTSON

THE HONOURABLE BERNARD MURPHY

(appointed, 13 June 2011)