## 2012-2013

# THE FEDERAL COURT REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

EDITOR VICTOR KLINE

Barrister-at-Law

CONSULTING EDITOR
DAVID CATTERNS QC

VOLUME 210

LAWBOOK CO.

2013

### SENIOR REPORTERS

DR OREN BIGOS SHARON HANSTEIN VICTOR KLINE RODEN PRITCHARD SARAH SOMERSET ALEXIS WALLACE

# PRODUCTION EDITOR MYUNG COLE



© 2013 Thomson Reuters (Professional) Australia Limited
ABN 64 058 914 668
Published in Sydney

Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW

Lawbook Co.

ISSN 0813-**7**803

### FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

### **CHIEF JUSTICE**

### THE HONOURABLE JAMES LESLIE BAIN ALLSOP, AO

### **JUDGES**

THE HONOURABLE TERENCE JOHN HIGGINS, AO THE HONOURABLE SHANE RAYMOND MARSHALL THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY MAX NORTH THE HONOURABLE JOHN RONALD MANSFIELD, AM THE HONOURABLE JOHN ALFRED DOWSETT THE HONOURABLE SUSAN CORALIE KENNY THE HONOURABLE PETER MICHAEL JACOBSON THE HONOURABLE ANNABELLE CLAIRE BENNETT, AO THE HONOURABLE BRUCE THOMAS LANDER THE HONOURABLE ANTONY NICHOLAS SIOPIS THE HONOURABLE RICHARD FRANCIS EDMONDS THE HONOURABLE ANDREW PETER GREENWOOD THE HONOURABLE STEVEN DAVID RARES THE HONOURABLE BERNA COLLIER THE HONOURABLE DENNIS ANTILL COWDROY, OAM THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY JAMES BESANKO THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER NEIL JESSUP THE HONOURABLE RICHARD ROSS SINCLAIR TRACEY,

THE HONOURABLE JOHN ERIC MIDDLETON
THE HONOURABLE ROBERT JOHN BUCHANAN
THE HONOURABLE JOHN GILMOUR
THE HONOURABLE MICHELLE MARJORIE GORDON
THE HONOURABLE JOHN ALEXANDER LOGAN, RFD
THE HONOURABLE GEOFFREY ALAN FLICK
THE HONOURABLE NEIL WALTER MCKERRACHER
THE HONOURABLE JOHN EDWARD REEVES
THE HONOURABLE NYE PERRAM
THE HONOURABLE JAYNE MARGARET JAGOT

RFD

THE HONOURABLE LINDSAY GRAEME FOSTER

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL LAURENCE BARKER

THE HONOURABLE JOHN VICTOR NICHOLAS

THE HONOURABLE DAVID MARKEY YATES

THE HONOURABLE MORDECAI BROMBERG

THE HONOURABLE JULIE ANNE DODDS-STREETON

THE HONOURABLE ANNA JUDITH KATZMANN

THE HONOURABLE ALAN ROBERTSON

THE HONOURABLE BERNARD MURPHY

THE HONOURABLE IAIN ROSS, AO

THE HONOURABLE JOHN GRIFFITHS

THE HONOURABLE DUNCAN JAMES COLQUHOUN KERR, CHEV LH

THE HONOURABLE LUCY KATHLEEN FARRELL

THE HONOURABLE TONY PAGONE (appointed 21 June 2013)

THE HONOURABLE JENNIFER DAVIES (appointed 4 July 2013)

THE HONOURABLE DEBBIE MORTIMER (appointed 12 July 2013)