2013

THE

FEDERAL COURT REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

> EDITOR VICTOR KLINE Barrister-at-Law

CONSULTING EDITOR DAVID CATTERNS QC

VOLUME 212

LAWBOOK CO.

2013

SENIOR REPORTERS

TAMARA BOONE DR OREN BIGOS SHARON HANSTEIN VICTOR KLINE RODEN PRITCHARD STEPHEN REBIKOFF SARAH SOMERSET ALEXIS WALLACE

REPORTER

ROBERT TURNBULL

PRODUCTION EDITOR MYUNG COLE



© 2013 Thomson Reuters (Professional) Australia Limited ABN 64 058 914 668

Published in Sydney

Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW

ISSN 0813-7803

Lawbook Co.

FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

CHIEF JUSTICE

THE HONOURABLE JAMES LESLIE BAIN ALLSOP, AO

JUDGES

THE HONOURABLE TERENCE JOHN HIGGINS, AO THE HONOURABLE SHANE RAYMOND MARSHALL THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY MAX NORTH THE HONOURABLE JOHN RONALD MANSFIELD, AM THE HONOURABLE JOHN ALFRED DOWSETT THE HONOURABLE SUSAN CORALIE KENNY THE HONOURABLE PETER MICHAEL JACOBSON THE HONOURABLE ANNABELLE CLAIRE BENNETT, AO THE HONOURABLE ANTONY NICHOLAS SIOPIS THE HONOURABLE RICHARD FRANCIS EDMONDS THE HONOURABLE ANDREW PETER GREENWOOD THE HONOURABLE STEVEN DAVID RARES THE HONOURABLE BERNA COLLIER THE HONOURABLE DENNIS ANTILL COWDROY, OAM THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY JAMES BESANKO THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER NEIL JESSUP THE HONOURABLE RICHARD ROSS SINCLAIR TRACEY, RFD THE HONOURABLE JOHN ERIC MIDDLETON THE HONOURABLE ROBERT JOHN BUCHANAN THE HONOURABLE JOHN GILMOUR THE HONOURABLE MICHELLE MARJORIE GORDON THE HONOURABLE JOHN ALEXANDER LOGAN, RFD THE HONOURABLE GEOFFREY ALAN FLICK THE HONOURABLE NEIL WALTER MCKERRACHER THE HONOURABLE JOHN EDWARD REEVES THE HONOURABLE NYE PERRAM THE HONOURABLE JAYNE MARGARET JAGOT THE HONOURABLE LINDSAY GRAEME FOSTER

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL LAURENCE BARKER THE HONOURABLE JOHN VICTOR NICHOLAS THE HONOURABLE DAVID MARKEY YATES THE HONOURABLE MORDECAI BROMBERG THE HONOURABLE JULIE ANNE DODDS-STREETON THE HONOURABLE ANNA JUDITH KATZMANN THE HONOURABLE ALAN ROBERTSON THE HONOURABLE BERNARD MURPHY THE HONOURABLE IAIN ROSS, AO THE HONOURABLE JOHN GRIFFITHS THE HONOURABLE DUNCAN JAMES COLQUHOUN KERR, CHEV LH THE HONOURABLE LUCY KATHLEEN FARRELL THE HONOURABLE TONY PAGONE THE HONOURABLE JENNIFER DAVIES THE HONOURABLE DEBBIE MORTIMER THE HONOURABLE DARRYL RANGIAH THE HONOURABLE RICHARD CONWAY WHITE THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL WIGNEY (appointed 9 September 2013) THE HONOURABLE MELISSA PERRY (appointed 23 September 2013)

Corrigendum

Ship Hako Endeavour and Others v Programmed Total Marine Services Pty Ltd (2013) 211 FCR 369:

Page 369, facts, paragraph 2, line 7, insert after item (iii): "(iv) the owner of Hako Fortress had terminated the demise charter under the Barecon 2001 form before PTMS commenced proceedings against the ship, so that s 18(b) was not satisfied."

Page 369, facts, paragraph 3, line 7, insert after last sentence: "PTMS argued that the shipowner had to retake physical possession of the ship under the Barecon 2001 form before the demise of the ship would be terminated."

Page 370, insert after holding (3): "(4) The owner of Hako Fortress had terminated the demise of the ship under cl 28 of the Barecon 2001 form by serving a notice of termination prior to the issue of the writ. Under cl 29 of the Barecon 2001 form, the demise charterer became a gratuitous bailee of the ship thereafter and it was not necessary for the shipowner to retake physical possession to bring the charterparty to an end. [63]-[67]

Patrick Stevedores No 2 Pty Ltd v MV Turakina (1998) 154 ALR 666, considered."

Page 397, paragraph [98], line 5, insert before "at 53-54 per Phillimore J": "*The Tagus* [1903] P 44".

Page 397, paragraph [101], lines 2-3: delete "(1908) 1908 SC 1168" and substitute "1908 SC 1168".