2023

THE

FEDERAL COURT REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

EDITOR VICTOR KLINE

CONSULTING EDITORS
DR OREN BIGOS KC
DAVID ASH

VOLUME 299

LAWBOOK CO.

2024

SENIOR REPORTERS

DR ALEXIS WALLACE SAMUEL CUMMINGS ELENI KANNIS VICTOR KLINE

REPORTERS

BERNARD ANDARY
FRANCIS CARDELL-OLIVER
TIMOTHY CROSS

PRODUCTION EDITOR MYUNG COLE



© 2024 Thomson Reuters (Professional) Australia Limited
ABN 64 058 914 668
Published in Sydney

Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW ISSN 0813-7803

FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

CHIEF JUSTICE

THE HONOURABLE DEBRA SUE MORTIMER

JUDGES

THE HONOURABLE BERNA COLLIER

THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY JAMES BESANKO

THE HONOURABLE JOHN ALEXANDER LOGAN, RFD

THE HONOURABLE NYE PERRAM

THE HONOURABLE JOHN VICTOR NICHOLAS

THE HONOURABLE DAVID MARKEY YATES

THE HONOURABLE MORDECAI BROMBERG

THE HONOURABLE ANNA JUDITH KATZMANN

THE HONOURABLE BERNARD MURPHY

THE HONOURABLE DARRYL RANGIAH

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL WIGNEY

THE HONOURABLE MELISSA PERRY

THE HONOURABLE JONATHAN BARRY RASHLEIGH BEACH

THE HONOURABLE BRIGITTE SANDRA MARKOVIC

THE HONOURABLE MARK KRANZ MOSHINSKY

THE HONOURABLE ROBERT BROMWICH

THE HONOURABLE NATALIE CHARLESWORTH

THE HONOURABLE STEPHEN BURLEY

THE HONOURABLE DAVID JOHN O'CALLAGHAN

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL BRYAN JOSHUA LEE

THE HONOURABLE ROGER MARC DERRINGTON

THE HONOURABLE DAVID GRAHAM THOMAS (retired 30 January 2024)

THE HONOURABLE SARAH CATHERINE DERRINGTON AM

THE HONOURABLE KATRINA FRANCES BANKS-SMITH

THE HONOURABLE CRAIG GRIERSON COLVIN

THE HONOURABLE THOMAS MICHAEL THAWLEY

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL FRANCIS WHEELAHAN

THE HONOURABLE ANGUS MORKEL STEWART

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL HUGH O'BRYAN

THE HONOURABLE DARREN JOHN JACKSON

THE HONOURABLE JOHN LESLIE SNADEN

THE HONOURABLE STEWART MAXWELL ANDERSON

THE HONOURABLE WENDY JANE ABRAHAM

THE HONOURABLE JOHN HALLEY

THE HONOURABLE ELIZABETH CHEESEMAN

THE HONOURABLE HELEN MARY JOAN ROFE

THE HONOURABLE KYLIE ELIZABETH DOWNES

THE HONOURABLE SCOTT ANTHONY GOODMAN

THE HONOURABLE PATRICK O'SULLIVAN

THE HONOURABLE SHAUN BRENDAN McELWAINE

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL JAMES FEUTRILL

THE HONOURABLE FIONA MEAGHER

THE HONOURABLE TIMOTHY McEVOY

THE HONOURABLE LISA HESPE

THE HONOURABLE ELIZABETH RAPER

THE HONOURABLE GEOFFREY ROSS KENNETT

THE HONOURABLE CATHERINE GAIL BUTTON

THE HONOURABLE IAN McNEIL JACKMAN

THE HONOURABLE ADAM HATCHER

THE HONOURABLE EMILIOS KYROU AO

THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER HORAN

THE HONOURABLE YASEEN SHARIFF

THE HONOURABLE PENELOPE ANNA NESKOVCIN (appointed 8 February 2024)

THE HONOURABLE CRAIG WILLIAM DOWLING (appointed 9 February 2024)