## 1993-1995

# THE NORTHERN TERRITORY LAW REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE SUPREME COURT OF THE NORTHERN TERRITORY

EDITORS ANITA DEL MEDICO (Volume 3) PHILIP McKEIVER (Volume 4)

## VOLUMES 3-4

LBC INFORMATION SERVICES

1996

## THE COUNCIL OF LAW REPORTING FOR THE

## NORTHERN TERRITORY

CHAIRMAN

THE HONOURABLE SIR WILLIAM JOHN FRANCIS KEARNEY CBE

EDITOR-IN-CHIEF

PHILIP MCKEIVER

EDITORS

PROFESSOR NED AUGHTERSON DAVID FARQUHAR DAVID ALDERMAN ALISTAIR WYVILL W J KARCZEWSKI

SECRETARY, TREASURER AND PUBLIC OFFICER

JULIE DAVIS

#### REPORTERS

ANITA DEL MEDICO MATTHEW DONNELLAN KENNETH GRIME W J KARCZEWSKI SHANE LETHLEAN DOMINIC MCCORMACK GREG MACDONALD PHILIP MCKEIVER KENT MALLINSON ROSEMARY MENAGE MARGO NELSON TREVOR RILEY OC ALASTAIR SHIELDS CARLA VENTURIN DAVID WARD ALASTAIR WYVILL

The Northern Territory Council of Law Reporting Inc gratefully acknowledges the funding of The Law Society Public Purpose Trust

Published in Sydney by LBC Information Services 50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW 40 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland 77 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 1038-9237

© 1996 The Law Book Company Limited t/as LBC Information Services

Printed and bound by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW

## SUPREME COURT OF THE NORTHERN TERRITORY OF AUSTRALIA

DURING THE CURRENCY OF THIS VOLUME

## CHIEF JUSTICE

- THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE BRIAN FRANK MARTIN AO MBE (appointed 12 March 1993)
- THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE KEITH JOHN AUSTIN ASCHE (retired 1 March 1993)

#### JUDGES

THE HONOURABLE SIR WILLIAM JOHN FRANCIS KEARNEY CBE THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE DAVID NORMAN ANGEL THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE DEAN MILDREN THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE SALLY GORDON THOMAS

#### JUDGE RESIDENT OUTSIDE THE NORTHERN TERRITORY

THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE JOHN FOSTER GALLOP

#### ADDITIONAL JUDGE

THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE LANCELOT JOHN PRIESTLEY

## ATTORNEY GENERAL

THE HONOURABLE DENIS BURKE MLA