1990-1991 WESTERN AUSTRALIAN REPORTS

INCORPORATING WESTERN AUSTRALIAN LAW REPORTS

Authorized Law Reports of The SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

EDITOR
KENNETH J MARTIN, LLM

PUBLISHED BY

THE LAW BOOK COMPANY LIMITED

AUSTRALIA

REPORTERS

W BUCKLEY
H CAHILL
T CIZEIKO
M COLLISON
S DENMAN
M EAST
C JARVIS
K MARTIN
S NALDER
M SOKOLICH
S TREVISAN
C URQUHART
M WARNER

PRODUCTION EDITOR

CAROLYN MAY

Published in Sydney by
The Law Book Company Limited
44-50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW
490 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria
40 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland
81 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 0813-8764

© Council of Law Reporting of Western Australia 1992

Typeset by the Law Book Company Ltd, North Ryde, NSW Printed by Hogbin Poole (Printers) Pty Ltd, Redfern, NSW

SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

Chief Justice

THE HONOURABLE DAVID KINGSLEY MALCOLM

Judges

THE HONOURABLE GEOFFREY ALEXANDER KENNEDY
THE HONOURABLE WILLIAM PAGE PIDGEON
THE HONOURABLE BARRY WILLIAM ROWLAND
THE HONOURABLE EDWARD MORRISSEY FRANKLYN
THE HONOURABLE PAUL LAURENCE SEAMAN
THE HONOURABLE ROBERT DAVID NICHOLSON
THE HONOURABLE TERENCE ALAN WALSH
THE HONOURABLE DAVID ANDREW IPP
THE HONOURABLE HENRY ALBERT WALLWORK
THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL JOHN MURRAY
THE HONOURABLE ROBERT JOHN MCARTHUR ANDERSON
THE HONOURABLE NEVILLE JOHN OWEN
THE HONOURABLE KERRY WHITE

Masters

Mann Sau Ng Theodore Reginald Bredmeyer CBE John Rennell Adams

COUNCIL OF LAW REPORTING OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

Chairman

THE HONOURABLE BARRY WILLIAM ROWLAND

Members

E M HEENAN, QC W S MARTIN, LLM C L ZELESTIS, QC