2010-2011

THE

AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY LAW REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

EDITOR
BRYAN MEAGHER SC

VOLUME 5

LAWBOOK CO.

2011

REPORTERS

CLARE CARNELL
STEVEN HAUSFELD
JAMES LAWTON
BRYAN MEAGHER SC
BARBARA PEARSON
DAN SHILLINGTON
CS WARD

PRODUCTION SUPERVISOR MYUNG COLE



© 2011 Thomson Reuters (Professional) Australia Limited

ABN 64 058 914 668

Published in Sydney

Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW ISSN 0813-7803

SUPREME COURT OF THE AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

CHIEF JUSTICE

THE HONOURABLE TERENCE JOHN HIGGINS, AO

JUDGES

THE HONOURABLE MALCOLM FORGAN GRAY, RFD (retired, 29 July 2011)

THE HONOURABLE RICHARD CHRISTOPHER REFSHAUGE

THE HONOURABLE HILARY RUTH PENFOLD

THE HONOURABLE DOMINIC JOHN BURNS (appointed, 1 August 2011)

THE HONOURABLE DONNELL MICHAEL RYAN (retired, 2 June 2011)

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL FRANCIS MOORE (resigned, 31 July 2011)

THE HONOURABLE SHANE RAYMOND MARSHALL

THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY MAX NORTH

THE HONOURABLE MARGARET ACKARY STONE

THE HONOURABLE ANNABELLE CLAIRE BENNETT, AO

THE HONOURABLE BRUCE THOMAS LANDER

THE HONOURABLE JOHN ALFRED DOWSETT

THE HONOURABLE STEVEN DAVID RARES

THE HONOURABLE DENNIS ANTILL COWDROY, OAM

THE HONOURABLE RICHARD FRANCIS EDMONDS

THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY JAMES BESANKO

THE HONOURABLE JOHN RONALD MANSFIELD

THE HONOURABLE ROBERT JOHN BUCHANAN

THE HONOURABLE LINDSAY GRAEME FOSTER

THE HONOURABLE JAYNE MARGARET JAGOT

THE HONOURABLE ANNA JUDITH KATZMANN

MASTERS

MASTER DAVID CLEMENT DAROLD HARPER, OAM

ADVISORY BOARD

THE HONOURABLE RICHARD CHRISTOPHER REFSHAUGE BRYAN MEAGHER SC JAYNE REECE