# 2013-2014

# THE

# AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY LAW REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

> editor BRYAN MEAGHER SC

> > VOLUME 8

LAWBOOK CO.

2014

#### REPORTERS

STEVEN HAUSFELD ANTHONY HOPKINS JAMES LAWTON BRYAN MEAGHER SC

## PRODUCTION SUPERVISOR LINDA PEARSON

# **Editor's notes**

An appeal against *Best v Bardsley* (2012) 7 ACTLR 64 was dismissed: [2013] ACTSC 141 An appeal against *Aziz v Saliba* (2012) 7 ACTLR 241 was dismissed: [2013] ACTA 41. An appeal against *Argos v Corbell* (2012) 7 ACTLR 15 was dismissed: [2013] ACTA 51.



© 2014 Thomson Reuters (Professional) Australia Limited ABN 64 058 914 668

Lawbook Co.

Published in Sydney

Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW

ISSN 0813-7803

# SUPREME COURT OF THE AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

#### CHIEF JUSTICE

THE HONOURABLE HELEN GAY MURRELL (appointed 28 October 2013) THE HONOURABLE TERENCE JOHN HIGGINS, AO (retired 13 September 2013)

#### JUDGES

THE HONOURABLE RICHARD CHRISTOPHER REFSHAUGE THE HONOURABLE HILARY RUTH PENFOLD THE HONOURABLE JOHN DOMINIC BURNS THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY MAX NORTH THE HONOURABLE ANNABELLE CLAIRE BENNETT, AO THE HONOURABLE BRUCE THOMAS LANDER (retired 31 August 2013) THE HONOURABLE JOHN ALFRED DOWSETT THE HONOURABLE STEVEN DAVID RARES THE HONOURABLE DENNIS ANTILL COWDROY, OAM (retired 15 March 2014) THE HONOURABLE RICHARD FRANCIS EDMONDS THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY JAMES BESANKO THE HONOURABLE JOHN RONALD MANSFIELD THE HONOURABLE ROBERT JOHN BUCHANAN THE HONOURABLE LINDSAY GRAEME FOSTER THE HONOURABLE JAYNE MARGARET JAGOT THE HONOURABLE ANNA JUDITH KATZMANN THE HONOURABLE JOHN GILMOUR THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL ANDREW WIGNEY (appointed 9 December 2013) THE HONOURABLE IAIN JAMES KERR ROSS, AO (appointed 23 January 2014)

### **ACTING JUDGES**

THE HONOURABLE JOHN ROSCOE NIELD

#### MASTERS

MASTER DAVID CLEMENT DAROLD HARPER, OAM (retired 21 May 2013) MASTER DAVID MOSSOP (appointed 22 May 2013)

## **ADVISORY BOARD**

THE HONOURABLE RICHARD CHRISTOPHER REFSHAUGE BRYAN MEAGHER SC JAYNE REECE