# 2015-2016

# THE

# AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY LAW REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

> editor BRYAN MEAGHER SC

# VOLUME 11

LAWBOOK CO.

2017

#### REPORTERS

TOM ELLISON ALICIA IRVING STEVEN HAUSFELD BRYAN MEAGHER SC RAFFAELE PICCOLO PETER WOULFE

# PRODUCTION SUPERVISOR LINDA PEARSON



© 2017 Thomson Reuters (Professional) Australia Limited ABN 64 058 914 668

Published in Sydney

Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW

ISSN 0813-7803

Lawbook Co.

# SUPREME COURT OF THE AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

### **CHIEF JUSTICE**

#### THE HONOURABLE HELEN GAY MURRELL

#### JUDGES

THE HONOURABLE RICHARD CHRISTOPHER REFSHAUGE THE HONOURABLE HILARY RUTH PENFOLD THE HONOURABLE JOHN DOMINIC BURNS THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL ELKAIM (appointed 4 July 2016) THE HONOURABLE DAVID MOSSOP (appointed 13 February 2017) THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY MAX NORTH THE HONOURABLE ANNABELLE CLAIRE BENNETT, AO (retired 23 March 2016) THE HONOURABLE JOHN ALFRED DOWSETT THE HONOURABLE STEVEN DAVID RARES THE HONOURABLE RICHARD FRANCIS EDMONDS (retired 10 February 2016) THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY JAMES BESANKO THE HONOURABLE JOHN RONALD MANSFELD THE HONOURABLE ROBERT JOHN BUCHANAN THE HONOURABLE JAYNE MARGARET JAGOT THE HONOURABLE LINDSAY GRAEME FOSTER THE HONOURABLE ANNA JUDITH KATZMANN THE HONOURABLE JOHN GILMOUR THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL ANDREW WIGNEY THE HONOURABLE IAN JAMES KERR ROSS, AO THE HONOURABLE MELISSA ANNE PERRY THE HONOURABLE DARRYL RANGIAH THE HONOURABLE BERNA COLLIER

## **ACTING JUDGES**

THE HONOURABLE LINDA ASHFORD THE HONOURABLE STEPHEN WALMSLEY THE HONOURABLE DAVID ROBINSON

## **ADVISORY BOARD**

THE HONOURABLE RICHARD CHRISTOPHER REFSHAUGE BRYAN MEAGHER SC JAYNE REECE