2016-2017

THE

AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY LAW REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

> editor BRYAN MEAGHER SC

VOLUME 12

LAWBOOK CO.

2018

REPORTERS

TOM ELLISON ALICIA IRVING STEVEN HAUSFELD BRYAN MEAGHER SC

PRODUCTION SUPERVISOR MYUNG COLE



© 2018 Thomson Reuters (Professional) Australia Limited ABN 64 058 914 668

Lawbook Co.

Published in Sydney

Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW

ISSN 0813-7803

SUPREME COURT OF THE AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

CHIEF JUSTICE

THE HONOURABLE HELEN GAY MURRELL

JUDGES

THE HONOURABLE RICHARD CHRISTOPHER REFSHAUGE (retired 11 May 2017) THE HONOURABLE HILARY RUTH PENFOLD, PSM THE HONOURABLE JOHN DOMINIC BURNS THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL ELKAIM THE HONOURABLE DAVID MOSSOP

ASSOCIATE JUDGE

THE HONOURABLE VERITY ALEXANDRA McWILLIAM (appointed 26 June 2017)

ADDITIONAL JUDGES FROM THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY MAX NORTH THE HONOURABLE JOHN ALFRED DOWSETT, AM THE HONOURABLE STEVEN DAVID RARES THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY JAMES BESANKO THE HONOURABLE JAYNE MARGARET JAGOT THE HONOURABLE LINDSAY GRAEME FOSTER THE HONOURABLE ANNA JUDITH KATZMANN THE HONOURABLE ANNA JUDITH KATZMANN THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL ANDREW WIGNEY THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL ANDREW WIGNEY THE HONOURABLE MELISSA ANNE PERRY THE HONOURABLE DARRYL RANGIAH THE HONOURABLE DARRYL RANGIAH THE HONOURABLE ROBERT JAMES BROMWICH THE HONOURABLE NATALIE CHARLESWORTH

ADDITIONAL JUDGES FROM THE SUPREME COURT OF VICTORIA

THE HONOURABLE ROBERT STANLEY OSBORN THE HONOURABLE SIMON PAUL WHELAN THE HONOURABLE PHILLIP GEOFFREY PRIEST THE HONOURABLE STEPHEN WILLIAMS KAYE, AM

ACTING JUDGES

THE HONOURABLE LINDA ASHFORD THE HONOURABLE STEPHEN WALMSLEY THE HONOURABLE DAVID ROBINSON THE HONOURABLE MURRAY KELLAM