2018-2019

THE

AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY LAW REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

EDITOR BRYAN MEAGHER SC

VOLUME 14

LAWBOOK CO.

2020

SENIOR REPORTERS

TOM ELLISON BRYAN MEAGHER SC

REPORTER STEVEN HAUSFELD

PRODUCTION SUPERVISOR
MYUNG COLE



© 2020 Thomson Reuters (Professional) Australia Limited

ABN 64 058 914 668

Published in Sydney

Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW ISSN 0813-7803

SUPREME COURT OF THE AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

CHIEF JUSTICE

THE HONOURABLE HELEN GAY MURRELL

JUDGES

THE HONOURABLE JOHN DOMINIC BURNS
THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL ELKAIM
THE HONOURABLE DAVID MOSSOP
THE HONOURABLE CHRISSA LOUKAS-KARLSSON

ASSOCIATE JUDGE

THE HONOURABLE VERITY ALEXANDRA McWILLIAM

ADDITIONAL JUDGES FROM THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

THE HONOURABLE STEVEN DAVID RARES

THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY JAMES BESANKO

THE HONOURABLE JAYNE MARGARET JAGOT

THE HONOURABLE LINDSAY GRAEME FOSTER

THE HONOURABLE ANNA JUDITH KATZMANN

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL ANDREW WIGNEY

THE HONOURABLE IAIN JAMES KERR ROSS, AO

THE HONOURABLE MELISSA ANNE PERRY

THE HONOURABLE DARRYL RANGIAH

THE HONOURABLE BERNA COLLIER

THE HONOURABLE ROBERT JAMES BROMWICH

THE HONOURABLE NATALIE CHARLESWORTH

THE HONOURABLE KATRINA BANKS-SMITH

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL LEE

THE HONOURABLE THOMAS THAWLEY

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL WHEELAHAN

THE HONOURABLE PAUL ANASTASSIOU

THE HONOURABLE ANGUS STEWART

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL O'BRYAN

THE HONOURABLE STEWART ANDERSON

THE HONOURABLE WENDY ABRAHAM

ADDITIONAL JUDGES FROM THE SUPREME COURT OF VICTORIA

THE HONOURABLE ROBERT STANLEY OSBORN

THE HONOURABLE SIMON PAUL WHELAN

THE HONOURABLE PHILLIP GEOFFREY PRIEST

THE HONOURABLE STEPHEN WILLIAMS KAYE, AM

ACTING JUDGES

THE HONOURABLE LINDA ASHFORD

THE HONOURABLE STEPHEN WALMSLEY

THE HONOURABLE DAVID ROBINSON

THE HONOURABLE MURRAY KELLAM

THE HONOURABLE ROBERT CROWE

THE HONOURABLE PETER BERMAN

THE HONOURABLE AUDREY BALLA