2005-2006

## THE NORTHERN TERRITORY LAW REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF THE DECISIONS OF THE SUPREME COURT OF THE NORTHERN TERRITORY

## **EDITOR-IN-CHIEF**

## CAMERON FORD

## VOLUMES 15-16

LAWBOOK CO. 2006

# THE COUNCIL OF LAW REPORTING FOR THE NORTHERN TERRITORY

#### CHAIRMAN

#### THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE DEAN MILDREN RFD

EDITOR-IN-CHIEF

**CAMERON FORD** 

#### EDITORS

Collette Dixon Mark Hunter Wojciech Karczewski QC Usha Vidot Raylene Webb QC

SUB EDITORS

JAMES BROHIER FRIEDA EVANS JILLIAN ERIKSEN

SECRETARY

CRAIG SMYTH

TREASURER AND PUBLIC OFFICER

FRIEDA EVANS

#### REPORTERS

### CAMERON FORD MATTHEW WALSH RENNIE ANDERSON

Published in Sydney by Lawbook Co. PO Box 3502, Rozelle, Sydney, NSW 560 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne, Victoria 239 George Street, Brisbane, Queensland 77 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 1038-9237

#### • 2006 Lawbook Co. a part of Thomson Legal & Regulatory Limited ABN 64 058 914 668

The Northern Territory Council of Law Reporting gratefully acknowledges donations from Hon Justice Angel; Ms J Blokland SM; Mr H Bradley CM; Cridlands Lawyers; Paul Ewens; David Francis; Halfpennys; Robert Jobson; Brian Johns; Paul Maher; Hon Chief Justice Martin; PD McQueen; ER Mildren; Hon Justice Mildren; Bill Piper; Hon Justice Riley; Sivyer & Associates; Janet Terry; Hon Justice Thomas; C Tys; Priesley Walsh and Woodcock Solicitors

> Printed by Lawbook Co. Bound by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwod, NSW

## SUPREME COURT OF THE NORTHERN TERRITORY OF AUSTRALIA

DURING THE CURRENCY OF THIS VOLUME

## CHIEF JUSTICE

## THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE BRIAN ROSS MARTIN

## ACTING CHIEF JUSTICE

## THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE DAVID NORMAN ANGEL

## JUDGES

THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE DAVID NORMAN ANGEL

THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE DEAN MILDREN RFD

THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE SALLY GORDON THOMAS AM

THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE TREVOR JOHN RILEY

THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE STEPHEN SOUTHWOOD (appointed 31 January 2005)

## ACTING JUDGES

THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE LANCELOT JOHN PRIESTLEY

THE HONOURABLE BRIAN FRANK MARTIN AO MBE

THE HONOURABLE LESLIE TREVOR OLSSON AO MBE RFD EO

## ATTORNEY-GENERAL

THE HONOURABLE DR P TOYNE MLA

#### CORRIGENDUM

Some minor typographical errors in the unbound parts have been corrected, and so where the parts differ from the bound volume, the bound volume is to take precedence. The headnote to *Leach* v *The Queen* at 16.117 has been rewritten.