2005-2006

THE NORTHERN TERRITORY LAW REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF THE DECISIONS OF THE SUPREME COURT OF THE NORTHERN TERRITORY

EDITOR-IN-CHIEF

CAMERON FORD

VOLUMES 17-18

LAWBOOK CO. 2007

THE COUNCIL OF LAW REPORTING FOR THE NORTHERN TERRITORY

CHAIRMAN

THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE DEAN MILDREN RFD

EDITOR-IN-CHIEF

CAMERON FORD

EDITORS

COLLETTE DIXON
MARK HUNTER
WOJCIECH KARCZEWSKI QC
USHA VIDOT
RAYLENE WEBB QC

SECRETARY

CRAIG SMYTH

TREASURER AND PUBLIC OFFICER
FRIEDA EVANS

REPORTERS

CAMERON FORD PAULA EDWARDS-MOFFAT

Published in Sydney by
Lawbook Co.
PO Box 3502, Rozelle, Sydney, NSW
560 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne, Victoria

239 George Street, Brisbane, Queensland 77 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 1038-9237

© 2007 Lawbook Co. a part of Thomson Legal & Regulatory Limited ABN 64 058 914 668

The Northern Territory Council of Law Reporting gratefully acknowledges the funding of the Law Society Public Purposes Trust.

Printed by Lawbook Co. Bound by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwod, NSW

SUPREME COURT OF THE NORTHERN TERRITORY OF AUSTRALIA

DURING THE CURRENCY OF THIS VOLUME

CHIEF JUSTICE

THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE BRIAN ROSS MARTIN

ACTING CHIEF JUSTICE

THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE DAVID NORMAN ANGEL

JUDGES

THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE DAVID NORMAN ANGEL
THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE DEAN MILDREN RFD
THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE SALLY GORDON THOMAS AM
THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE TREVOR JOHN RILEY
THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE STEPHEN SOUTHWOOD

ACTING JUDGES

THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE LANCELOT JOHN PRIESTLEY
THE HONOURABLE BRIAN FRANK MARTIN AO MBE
THE HONOURABLE LESLIE TREVOR OLSSON AO MBE RFD EO

ATTORNEY-GENERAL

THE HONOURABLE DR P TOYNE MLA (27 August 2001-1 September 2006)

THE HONOURABLE S STIRLING MLA (appointed 2 September 2006)

CORRIGENDUM

R v Whittington has been reported twice, at 17 NTLR 235 and 18 NTLR 103. The former is the preferred citation.

Some minor typographical errors in the loose parts have been corrected in this bound volume. The latter is to prevail.