### 2007-2008

## THE

# NORTHERN TERRITORY LAW REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF THE DECISIONS OF THE SUPREME COURT OF THE NORTHERN TERRITORY

EDITOR-IN-CHIEF
CAMERON FORD

VOLUMES 21-22

LAWBOOK CO.

2009

# REPORTER CAMERON FORD



2009 Thomson Reuters (Professional) Australia Limited ABN 64 058 914 668

Lawbook Co.

Published in Sydney

Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW ISSN 1038-9237

## THE COUNCIL OF LAW REPORTING FOR THE NORTHERN TERRITORY

## CHAIRPERSON THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE DEAN MILDREN RFD

EDITOR IN CHIEF CAMERON FORD

**EDITORS** 

COLLETTE DIXON
WOJCIECH KARCZEWSKI QC
MATTHEW STOREY
RAYLENE WEBB QC
PROFESSOR NED AUGHTERSON
RICHARD BRUXNER

SECRETARY CRAIG SMYTH

TREASURER AND PUBLIC OFFICER FRIEDA EVANS

#### SUPREME COURT OF THE NORTHERN TERRITORY OF AUSTRALIA

#### DURING THE CURRENCY OF THIS VOLUME

#### **CHIEF JUSTICE**

#### THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE BRIAN ROSS MARTIN

## ACTING CHIEF JUSTICE THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE DAVID NORMAN ANGEL

#### **JUDGES**

THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE DAVID NORMAN ANGEL
THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE DEAN MILDREN RFD
THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE SALLY GORDON THOMAS AM
THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE TREVOR JOHN RILEY
THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE STEPHEN ROGER SOUTHWOOD

#### **ACTING JUDGES**

THE HONOURABLE BRIAN FRANK MARTIN AO MBE
THE HONOURABLE LESLIE TREVOR OLSSON AO MBE RFD ED
THE HONOURABLE HOWARD WILLIAM OLNEY AM
THE HONOURABLE GEOFFREY MICHAEL EAMES

#### ATTORNEY-GENERAL

THE HONOURABLE S STIRLING MLA (1 September 2006-25 November 2007)

THE HONOURABLE R HENDERSON MLA (26 November 2007-29 November 2007)

THE HONOURABLE DR CB BURNS MLA (30 November 2007-3 February 2009)

THE HONOURABLE MR SCRYMGOUR MLA (4 February 2009-8 February 2009)

THE HONOURABLE DP LAWRIE MLA (appointed 9 February 2009)