2012

THE

NORTHERN TERRITORY LAW REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF THE DECISIONS OF THE SUPREME COURT OF THE NORTHERN TERRITORY

EDITOR-IN-CHIEF
CAMERON FORD

VOLUMES 31-32

THOMSON REUTERS
2013

REPORTER CAMERON FORD



> © The Northern Territory Council of Law Reporting Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW

> > ISSN 1038-9237

THE COUNCIL OF LAW REPORTING FOR THE NORTHERN TERRITORY

CHAIRPERSON THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE DEAN MILDREN RFD

EDITOR IN CHIEF CAMERON FORD

EDITORS

COLLETTE DIXON WOJCIECH KARCZEWSKI QC DR DAVID PRICE KATHRYN GLEESON

> SECRETARY CRAIG SMYTH

TREASURER AND PUBLIC OFFICER FRIEDA EVANS

SUPREME COURT OF THE NORTHERN TERRITORY OF AUSTRALIA

DURING THE CURRENCY OF THIS VOLUME

CHIEF JUSTICE

THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE TREVOR JOHN RILEY (appointed 27 September 2010)

ACTING CHIEF JUSTICE

THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE DEAN MILDREN RFD

JUDGES

THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE DEAN MILDREN RFD
THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE STEPHEN ROGER SOUTHWOOD
THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE JUDITH CLAIRE KELLY
THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE JENNY MAY BLOKLAND
(appointed 9 April 2010)

THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE PETER MARTIN BARR (appointed 30 September 2010)

THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE JOHN EDWARD REEVES
THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE JOHN RONALD MANSFIELD AM
THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE BRIAN ROSS MARTIN AO
(appointed 22 November 2010)

ACTING JUDGES

THE HONOURABLE LESLIE TREVOR OLSSON AO MBE RFD ED

ATTORNEY-GENERAL

THE HONOURABLE DANIEL ROBERT KNIGHT MLA 28 October 2011 - 28 August 2012

THE HONOURABLE JOHAN WESSEL ELFERINK MLA 2 October 2012