## 2014-2016

### THE

# NORTHERN TERRITORY LAW REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF THE DECISIONS OF THE SUPREME COURT OF THE NORTHERN TERRITORY

EDITOR-IN-CHIEF
CAMERON FORD

VOLUMES 35-36

THOMSON REUTERS
2018

## REPORTERS CAMERON FORD ISABEL ROPER



© 2018 Thomson Reuters (Professional) Australia Limited
ABN 64 058 914 668
Published in Sydney

Lawbook Co.

© The Northern Territory Council of Law Reporting Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW

ISSN 1038-9237

## THE COUNCIL OF LAW REPORTING FOR THE NORTHERN TERRITORY

## CHAIRPERSON THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE GRAHAM HILEY RFD

EDITOR IN CHIEF CAMERON FORD

**EDITORS** 

COLLETTE DIXON

MARTIN FISHER

WOJCIECH KARCZEWSKI QC

DR DAVID PRICE

SECRETARY
CRAIG SMYTH

TREASURER AND PUBLIC OFFICER
FRIEDA EVANS

#### SUPREME COURT OF THE NORTHERN TERRITORY OF AUSTRALIA

#### DURING THE CURRENCY OF THIS VOLUME

#### **CHIEF JUSTICE**

#### THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE TREVOR JOHN RILEY

#### **ACTING CHIEF JUSTICE**

THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE DEAN MILDREN AM RFD (retired 27 February 2013)

#### **JUDGES**

THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE STEPHEN ROGER SOUTHWOOD
THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE JUDITH CLAIRE KELLY
THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE JENNY MAY BLOKLAND
THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE PETER MARTIN BARR
THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE GRAHAM HILEY RFD
(appointed 1 March 2013)

#### **ACTING JUDGES**

THE HONOURABLE LESLIE TREVOR OLSSON AO MBE RFD ED (retired 25 August 2014)

THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE DEAN MILDREN AM RFD (appointed 27 February 2013)

#### ADDITIONAL JUDGES

THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE JOHN EDWARD REEVES
THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE JOHN RONALD MANSFIELD AM
THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE BRIAN ROSS MARTIN AO

#### MASTER

MASTER VINCENT LUPPINO

## $\label{eq:attorney-general} \mbox{THE HONOURABLE JOHAN WESSEL ELFERINK MLA}$