#### 2016-2017

#### THE

# NORTHERN TERRITORY LAW REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF THE DECISIONS OF THE SUPREME COURT OF THE NORTHERN TERRITORY

EDITOR-IN-CHIEF
CAMERON FORD

VOLUMES 39-40

THOMSON REUTERS
2020

#### **REPORTERS**

#### CAMERON FORD JULIAN R MURPHY ISABEL ROPER



© 2020 Thomson Reuters (Professional) Australia Limited
ABN 64 058 914 668
Published in Sydney

Lawbook Co.

© The Northern Territory Council of Law Reporting Inc Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW

ISSN 1038-9237

## THE COUNCIL OF LAW REPORTING FOR THE NORTHERN TERRITORY INC

## CHAIRPERSON THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE GRAHAM HILEY RFD

EDITOR IN CHIEF
CAMERON FORD

EDITORS

COLLETTE DIXON

WOJCIECH KARCZEWSKI QC

TAMZIN LEE

DAVID PRICE

MATTHEW PUNCH

SECRETARY CRAIG SMYTH

TREASURER AND PUBLIC OFFICER
FRIEDA EVANS

## SUPREME COURT OF THE NORTHERN TERRITORY OF AUSTRALIA

#### DURING THE CURRENCY OF THIS VOLUME

#### **CHIEF JUSTICE**

THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE TREVOR JOHN RILEY

(retired July 2016)

THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE MICHAEL GRANT

(appointed July 2016)

#### **JUDGES**

THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE STEPHEN ROGER SOUTHWOOD

THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE JUDITH CLAIRE KELLY

THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE JENNY MAY BLOKLAND

THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE PETER MARTIN BARR

THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE GRAHAM HILEY RFD

THE HONOURABLE ASSOCIATE JUSTICE VINCE LUPPINO

#### ADDITIONAL JUDGES

THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE JOHN EDWARD REEVES
THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE JOHN RONALD MANSFIELD AM

#### **ACTING JUDGES**

## THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE TREVOR JOHN RILEY THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE BRIAN ROSS MARTIN AO THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE DEAN MILDREN AM RFD THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE ANTHONY GRAHAM

## ATTORNEY-GENERAL THE HONOURABLE JOHAN WESSEL ELFERINK MLA THE HONOURABLE NATASHA FYLES