1985-1986

THE

SOUTH AUSTRALIAN STATE REPORTS

EDITORS

R M HAGUE, CBE, LLB A Practitioner of the Supreme Court of South Australia

(pages 1-296)

VICTOR KLINE, LLB

Barrister-at-Law

(pages 297-597)

VOLUME 43

THE LAW BOOK COMPANY LIMITED

REPORTERS

J M BENNETT A J BESANKO M BLUE RUTH CHARLTON R S COLTON K FITZHENRY MATTHEW GOODE R M HAGUE VICTOR KLINE G L MUECKE

Published in Sydney by

The Law Book Company Limited 44-50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW 389-393 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne, Victoria 40 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland 6 Sherwood Court, Perth, WA

ISSN 0049-1470

© The Law Book Company Limited 1987

Typeset by The Law Book Company Limited, North Ryde, NSW Printed by KB Printing Services Pty Ltd, Edwardstown, SA

JUDGES OF THE SUPREME COURT

THE HONOURABLE LEONARD JAMES KING, CHIEF JUSTICE THE HONOURABLE SAMUEL JOSHUA JACOBS THE HONOURABLE JAMES MICHAEL WHITE THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER JOHN LEGOE THE HONOURABLE BRIAN ROTHWELL COX THE HONOURABLE ROBERT FINEY MOHR THE HONOURABLE ROBERT FINEY MOHR THE HONOURABLE DEREK WILLOUGHBY BOLLEN THE HONOURABLE DEREK WILLOUGHBY BOLLEN THE HONOURABLE ROBIN RHODES MILLHOUSE THE HONOURABLE ELLIOTT FRANK JOHNSTON THE HONOURABLE GRAHAM CLIFTON PRIOR THE HONOURABLE LESLIE TREVOR OLSSON THE HONOURABLE MAURICE FRANCIS O'LOUGHLIN THE HONOURABLE JOHN WILLIAM VON DOUSSA

ATTORNEY-GENERAL

THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER JOHN SUMNER, MLC