1986-1987

THE SOUTH AUSTRALIAN STATE REPORTS

EDITOR

VICTOR KLINE, LLB

Barrister-at-Law

VOLUME 44

REPORTERS

C N H BAGOT K FITZHENRY J M BENNETT **MATTHEW GOODE** A J BESANKO R M HAGUE M BLUE VICTOR KLINE TIM BRYANT G L MUECKE P A McNAMARA **RUTH CHARLTON** M G PICKAVER R S COLTON G M EAMES S W TILMOUTH

W J N WELLS

Published in Sydney by

The Law Book Company Limited 44-50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW 389-393 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne, Victoria 40 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland 6 Sherwood Court, Perth, WA

ISSN 0049-1470

© The Law Book Company Limited 1988

JUDGES OF THE SUPREME COURT

THE HONOURABLE LEONARD JAMES KING, CHIEF JUSTICE

THE HONOURABLE SAMUEL JOSHUA JACOBS

THE HONOURABLE JAMES MICHAEL WHITE

THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER JOHN LEGOE

THE HONOURABLE BRIAN ROTHWELL COX

THE HONOURABLE ROBERT FINEY MOHR

THE HONOURABLE RODERICK GRANT MATHESON

THE HONOURABLE DEREK WILLOUGHBY BOLLEN

THE HONOURABLE ROBIN RHODES MILLHOUSE

THE HONOURABLE ELLIOTT FRANK JOHNSTON

THE HONOURABLE GRAHAM CLIFTON PRIOR

THE HONOURABLE LESLIE TREVOR OLSSON

THE HONOURABLE MAURICE FRANCIS O'LOUGHLIN

THE HONOURABLE JOHN WILLIAM VON DOUSSA

ATTORNEY-GENERAL

THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER JOHN SUMNER, MLC