1987-1988

THE

SOUTH AUSTRALIAN STATE REPORTS

EDITORS

ELLIOTT JOHNSTON, QC (for cases decided on or after 29 February 1988) and VICTOR KLINE, LLB

Barrister-at-Law

VOLUME 48

THE LAW BOOK COMPANY LIMITED

1989

REPORTERS

J M BENNETT MALCOLM BLUE TIM BRYANT RUTH CHARLTON R S COLTON MATTHEW GOODE GARY B HEVEY PAUL HEYWOOD-SMITH MELANIE LITTLE D H PEEK MICHAEL QUINLAN PAUL ROFE LEANNE THOMAS W P WHITE

Published in Sydney by

The Law Book Company Limited 44-50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW 389-393 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne, Victoria 40 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland 81 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 0049-1470

© The Law Book Company Limited 1989

Typeset by The Law Book Company Limited, North Ryde, NSW Printed by KB Printing Services Pty Ltd, Edwardstown, SA

JUDGES OF THE SUPREME COURT

THE HONOURABLE LEONARD JAMES KING, CHIEF JUSTICE THE HONOURABLE SAMUEL JOSHUA JACOBS THE HONOURABLE JAMES MICHAEL WHITE THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER JOHN LEGOE THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER JOHN LEGOE THE HONOURABLE BRIAN ROTHWELL COX THE HONOURABLE ROBERT FINEY MOHR THE HONOURABLE ROBERT FINEY MOHR THE HONOURABLE DEREK WILLOUGHBY BOLLEN THE HONOURABLE DEREK WILLOUGHBY BOLLEN THE HONOURABLE ROBIN RHODES MILLHOUSE *THE HONOURABLE ELLIOTT FRANK JOHNSTON THE HONOURABLE GRAHAM CLIFTON PRIOR THE HONOURABLE LESLIE TREVOR OLSSON THE HONOURABLE MAURICE FRANCIS O'LOUGHLIN †THE HONOURABLE JOHN WILLIAM VON DOUSSA THE HONOURABLE JOHN WILLIAM PERRY

THE HONOURABLE KEVIN PATRICK DUGGAN

ATTORNEY-GENERAL

THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER JOHN SUMNER, MLC

*Retired, 26 February 1988. †Resigned, 30 November 1988. ‡Appointed, 1 December 1988.