1988-1990

THE

SOUTH AUSTRALIAN STATE REPORTS

EDITOR

ELLIOTT JOHNSTON, QC

VOLUME 52

THE LAW BOOK COMPANY LIMITED

1990

REPORTERS

M F BLUE GEOFF BRITTON TIM BRYANT R A CAMERON ANTHONY CROCKER MATTHEW GOODE PAUL HEYWOOD-SMITH MELANIE LITTLE ANN MCLEAN D H PEEK MICHAEL QUINLAN SYDNEY TILMOUTH

Published in Sydney by

The Law Book Company Limited 44-50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW 490 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 40 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland 81 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 0049-1470

© The Law Book Company Limited 1990

Typeset by The Law Book Company Limited, North Ryde, NSW Printed by KB Printing Services Pty Ltd, Edwardstown, SA

JUDGES OF THE SUPREME COURT

THE HONOURABLE LEONARD JAMES KING, CHIEF JUSTICE THE HONOURABLE SAMUEL JOSHUA JACOBS THE HONOURABLE JAMES MICHAEL WHITE THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER JOHN LEGOE THE HONOURABLE BRIAN ROTHWELL COX THE HONOURABLE ROBERT FINEY MOHR THE HONOURABLE RODERICK GRANT MATHESON THE HONOURABLE DEREK WILLOUGHBY BOLLEN THE HONOURABLE ROBIN RHODES MILLHOUSE THE HONOURABLE GRAHAM CLIFTON PRIOR THE HONOURABLE LESLIE TREVOR OLSSON *THE HONOURABLE MAURICE FRANCIS O'LOUGHLIN **†The Honourable John William von Doussa** THE HONOURABLE JOHN WILLIAM PERRY THE HONOURABLE KEVIN PATRICK DUGGAN THE HONOURABLE EDWARD PICTON MULLIGHAN

ATTORNEY-GENERAL

THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER JOHN SUMNER, MLC

*Resigned, 31 July 1989. †Resigned, 30 November 1988.