1991-1992

THE SOUTH AUSTRALIAN STATE REPORTS

ELLIOTT JOHNSTON OC

VOLUME 57

THE LAW BOOK COMPANY LIMITED

1993

REPORTERS

GEOFF BRITTON
TIM BRYANT
ANTHONY CROCKER
CASANDRA FRANCAS
DEBORAH FYFE
MATTHEW GOODE
PAUL HEYWOOD-SMITH
ELLIOTT JOHNSTON QC
C J KOURAKIS
MELANIE LITTLE
ANN McLEAN
D H PEEK
DAVID RIGGALL

PRODUCTION EDITOR CAROLYN ROBSON

Published in Sydney by
The Law Book Company Limited
44-50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW
568 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne, Victoria
40 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland
81 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 0049-1470

© The Law Book Company Limited 1993

JUDGES OF THE SUPREME COURT

THE HONOURABLE LEONARD JAMES KING, CHIEF JUSTICE

THE HONOURABLE JAMES MICHAEL WHITE

THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER JOHN LEGOE

THE HONOURABLE BRIAN ROTHWELL COX

THE HONOURABLE ROBERT FINEY MOHR

THE HONOURABLE RODERICK GRANT MATHESON

THE HONOURABLE DEREK WILLOUGHBY BOLLEN

THE HONOURABLE ROBIN RHODES MILLHOUSE

THE HONOURABLE GRAHAM CLIFTON PRIOR

THE HONOURABLE LESLIE TREVOR OLSSON

THE HONOURABLE JOHN WILLIAM PERRY

THE HONOURABLE KEVIN PATRICK DUGGAN

THE HONOURABLE EDWARD PICTON MULLIGHAN

THE HONOURABLE BRUCE MALCOLM DEBELLE

ATTORNEY-GENERAL

THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER JOHN SUMNER, MLC